Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 24, 2010/ 11 Sivan 5770

Libs Stand Tall --- For Mexico

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "It introduces a terrible idea using racial profiling as a basis for law enforcement. I agree with the president (Barack Obama) who says the new law carries a great amount of risk with the core values that we all care about are breached." -- Mexican president Felipe Calderon addressing joint meeting of Congress in the House of Representatives, May 20, 2010


"(WOLF) BLITZER: So if people want to come from Guatemala or Honduras or El Salvador or Nicaragua, they want to just come into Mexico, they can just walk in? (FELIPE) CALDERON: No. They need to fulfill a form. They need to establish their right name. We analyze if they have not a criminal precedent. And they coming into Mexico. Actually…

BLITZER: Do Mexican police go around asking for papers of people they suspect are illegal immigrants? CALDERON: Of course. Of course, in the border, we are asking the people, who are you?

BLITZER: So in other words, if somebody sneaks in from Nicaragua or some other country in Central America, through the southern border of Mexico, they wind up in Mexico, they can go get a job…CALDERON: No, no.

BLITZER: They can work. CALDERON: If-if somebody do that without permission, we send back-we send back them."-- The Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer, CNN, May 20, 2010


"In the 21st century we are defined, not by our borders, but by our bonds."-- President Barack Obama, addressing Felipe Calderon, May 19, 2010


At one point in my life I worked in advertising, which is all about something called "branding." Truly successful branding is that which clearly defines a particular product or service so clearly that the consumer thinks about that product or service by its brand name above all other considerations. For example, most Americans say "Kleenex" with realizing that they're really referring to a paper tissue that could be called anything.

Last Thursday, Mexican president Felipe Calderon came to our "home court" and had the unmitigated gall to criticize Arizonans--as well as a substantial majority Americans nationwide--for their attempts to stop the flood of illegal aliens coming into the United States. Illegals coming from, or coming through, Mr. Calderon's home country. Democrats stood up and applauded Mr. Calderon's speech, including Homeland Security Czar Janet Napolitano and U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder, both of whom recently admitted they haven't even read the Arizona statute.

Memo to Republican National Committee: this is the branding opportunity of a lifetime. Mr. Calderon whacking decent Americans and being cheered by leftist Democrats is an election-year dream come true. What could be better than a thirty-second commercial showing the power center of a bankrupt political party taking the side of a shamelessly hypocritical foreigner over their fellow Americans? One could even envision a voice-over announcer asking the ultimate brand-reinforcing question:

Are Democrats the political party you want representing American interests in Washington, D.C. after the November election?

It's a commercial that ought to be made--and then run every day of the week in every state from now until election day. Subsequent commercial spin-offs should include Barack Obama's above quote, and quotes from Mr. Calderon's schizophrenic double-standard regarding immigration law, as evidenced by the above remarks he made in his interview on CNN. In fact, some judicious juxtaposition of Calderon's House remarks and those made at CNN--along with a comparison of Mexican and U.S. immigration laws--would make it stunningly clear how contemptuous the American left, their ruling elites, and their fellow world travelers are of ordinary Americans.

It would also demonstrate the breath-taking hypocrisy of liberals who support Mexico's immigration laws, despite the irrefutable fact they are far harsher than those for which the same liberals are hammering Arizonans.

As for president Barack Obama: we are defined by our borders, sir. If we weren't, there would be no need whatsoever for millions of law-breakers to cross them. And in case you hadn't noticed, Europe is learning a terrible lesson about attempting to substitute faux "bonds" for genuine "borders." Bureaucratic one-worlders, with a conceit quite similar to your own, believed they could paper over--literally, with a currency--vast differences in language, customs, and culture. They, like so many leftists across the globe, believe people are nothing more than cannon fodder for the collectivist ambitions of the self-anointed elite. These elitists are utterly contemptuous of individual wants and needs, or anything else that might interfere with their grandiose scheme.

What scheme? The same old scheme that's been attempted innumerable times throughout the course of history: the accumulation of elitist power, wealth and prestige at the expense of everyone else.

Whether liberals like it or not, there is an "us," and there is a "them." While we may share common bonds as members of the same species, virtually everything else is defined by the nature of a particular national ethos. It is worth remembering that the North American continent and the South American continent were discovered and built by the same groups of people at the same time. It is also worth remembering that Old World civilizations in Europe and Asia had a "head start" of several hundreds of years over the Americas.

If borders are inconsequential, then how in hell did the United States leap to the head of the pack in less than two hundred and fifty years? Why aren't all the other countries who share similar "bonds" as successful as we are? Could it be that American exceptionalism--nowhere better embodied than in those we call the Founding Fathers--makes the ultimate difference?

You bet it does. And leftist Democrats--along with some addled RINOS--would toss it aside for "fairness" sake.

It's truly amazing how many Americans, egged on by a media which long ago gave up even the slightest pretense of fealty to this country, don't understand the marvel of American exceptionalism. Note the first part that word: exceptional. Synonyms include "better than average," or "superior." The American left, as evidenced by the president himself, believes our exceptionalism is not only unimportant, ("I believe in American exceptionalism, just as I suspect that the Brits believe in British exceptionalism and the Greeks believe in Greek exceptionalism"--Obama) but something for which we owe the world an apology.

How do other leftists feel about American exceptionalism? Oddly enough, it was part of the debate which occurred in Texas regarding whether or not it should be included in the nation's history books. Here's some notable quotes:

"[T]ravel to any foreign country, and the consensus is: The American idea has become a cruel joke, a blustery and bellicose bodybuilder luridly bulked up on steroids…deranged and myopic, dangerous." --liberal author Joyce Carol Oates

"Seems like braggadocio to me, rather than trying to be factual." --Mavis Knight, liberal member of the Texas school board

"To think about oursleves as exceptional really is a very narrow vision in a world which is becoming more and more globalized every day. Throughout our history, many of the processes which have shaped American history--industrialization, urbanization, things like that--are not purely national phenomena. And yet we sometimes think that the only way to understand American history is to think about it within the United States…[the pushing Westward of] the frontier, or things that are indigenous to the United States." --Columbia University historian Eric Foner

Andrew Roberts, a British historian, offers the antidote to such odious nonsense:

"For postmodernists, whereby everything has to be related to something else and nothing is truly exceptional, it's a disgusting concept that America could stand above and away from the normal ruck of history. And of course, it also feeds in very much to European anti-Americanism, especially at this time of the war against terror."

"America is not like any other country. It wasn't born like other countries. It didn't come to prominence like other countries. It's not holding its imperium like other countries….It probably won't lose its supremacy like other countries. And so in that sense it is completely exceptional."

In a better world, Mr Obama, et al, would be apologizing to Americans for their abject cluelessness.

But this is not a better world. It is a world where John Morton, head of U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), announced that his agency "may not process" illegal immigrants referred to them by Arizona officials. In other words, like so many

leftists, he won't enforce the law because he doesn't like it. He should be fired--like anyone else who refuses to his job.

The mid-term election upcoming in November is about many issues, mostly related to economics. But Americans should never forget it is also a choice between populating government with people who believe this is the finest country in the world--warts and all--and those who think we are a fundamentally damaged nation requiring a wholesale make-over. Between those who believe in American exceptionalism and those who have contempt for it. Between those who believe in individual freedom, ambition and prosperity, and those who want government to choose winners and losers. Between those who see Americans as the vibrant, dynamic people history has proven us to be, and those who consider us too stupid to run our own lives without their "enlightened" interference.

Those are the real stakes in November. Here's hoping a semi-articulate Republican party knows a branding opportunity when they see one.

Lights, camera, action.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


05/19/10:
The 'Unintended Consequences' of Liberalism
05/17/10: 'Los' Suns: Stuck on Stupido
05/12/10: Union Audacity: Yes We Will!
05/10/10: Greeks, Leaks and and Double-Speak
05/05/10: Twelve Million Illegals --- or Thirty?
05/02/10: Republicans: Playing Not to Lose Doesn't Cut It
04/28/10: Arizona: Progressivism's Waterloo?
04/26/10: Son of Amnesty
04/22/10: Mortgages and Moral Meltdowns
04/20/10: Bashing Christians — Or Gays?
04/15/10: Personal Integri-‘tea’
04/12/10: Fools, Tools and Ghouls
04/08/10: (Tea) Party On
04/05/10: The Triumph of Mediocrity
04/02/10: Two For the Road
03/29/10: The Innate Immorality of Liberalism
03/24/10: The Art of War
03/22/10: I Want My Country Back
03/18/10: A Perpetual Process
03/17/10: American Exhibitionists
03/15/10: A Light Bulb Moment of Clarity
03/10/10: Little Things Mean A Lot
02/03/10: Budgetary Fork in the Road
02/01/10: Liberal Economic Illiteracy
01/27/10: ‘Roe-ing and Wade-ing’ Back to Reason
01/25/10: Arrogance When Up, Denial When Down
01/20/10: Connecting the Educational Dots
01/19/10: The Next Tea Party?
01/15/10: The Myth That Keeps on Giving
01/13/10: Airport Security Begins Away From the Airport
01/11/10: Secrets and Lies
01/08/10: Embracing Bigotry — or Rejecting Bullying?
01/06/10: Hanging by an Ideological Thread
01/04/10: Our ‘Wonderama’ Bureaucracy
12/30/09: A Day Off
12/28/09: Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2010, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles