Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 12, 2010/ 28 Iyar 5770

Union Audacity: Yes We Will!

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "We deserve what we have! And we're not giving any of it back!"--Civil Service Employees Association (CSEA) Executive Vice President Mary Sullivan, protesting a plan to furlough 100,000 New State public sector state employees.

Sorry, Ms. Sullivan. The furloughs were enacted by the New York state legislature early Tuesday morning for the simplest of reasons: the alternative choice for a highly reluctant legislature was a complete government shutdown. Why a shutdown? Because the same bunch of political hacks have failed to reach a budget agreement, even though the law requires one by April 1st. The state, facing a $9 billion dollar budget gap, had asked the unions for $250 million in contract concessions. The unions refused to budge, no doubt figuring the combination of a union-beholden legislature and lame-duck governor David Patterson wouldn't pull the trigger on the furloughs.

Wrong guess.

But it will likely get worse for the CSEA for yet another simple reason: New Yorkers are very likely to discover that their lives won't miss a beat for the seven days during which each worker will take one unpaid holiday. Until a budget deal is reached, the legislature will have to vote on furloughs every week. The amount of money saved in a single week? $30 million of taxpayer money.

Do the math. Ten weeks, $300 million. Forty weeks? $1.2 billion.

I lived in New York for thirty-five years. I've seen park workers drinking from 40 oz. malt liquor bottles while they were picking up leaves. I've woken up cops sound asleep in their patrol car. I watched a garbage man pick up a stack of newspapers, drop them on the way to the garbage truck, and leave them in the middle of the street. I talked to a principal who didn't want to investigate the possible rape of a 13-year-old girl in his school because it was "too much trouble." I knew a teacher who spent three years in a "rubber room" collecting a salary for doing absolutely nothing. I've seen hospital workers completely ignore patients, and leave their break room strewn with litter. I had a tollbooth operator curse at me for paying part of my toll with pennies, even though it was all the money I had left. I had a subway token booth clerk refuse my request to call the police even though I told him a deranged man was walking along the platform of the Clark Street station in Brooklyn carrying hedge trimmers and jabbing them at people.

I could go on--and on--but you get the picture.

It is said familiarity breeds contempt, and perhaps no other group of workers is more familiar with the kind of salaries, benefits and pensions that make public service employees the beneficiaries of the kind of taxpayer largesse that most taxpayers themselves can only dream about. And no other group of workers is more imbued with the kind of contempt that makes most of them believe they are entitled to all of it, even in the midst of a fiscal meltdown.

"We deserve what we have! And we're not giving any of it back!"

There are millions of us who've experienced the very same punch-the-clock, "it's not my job," self-inflicted torpor that makes virtually every interaction with bureaucracy an unnecessarily arduous and annoying affair. Americans have stood by while government grows exponentially more expensive--even as get gets grossly more inefficient. They have stood by as their hard-earned money paid for pensions rigged to provide workers with more money in retirement than they made working. They stood by as average salaries for public sector workers rose to one-and-a-half times those paid to private sector workers. They stood by as taxes were increased--and government still went deeper and deeper into debt. They stood by as politicians undermined their children's chances for a decent education because they were more afraid of the unions than the voting public. They stood by as state after state cut everything but union perks and union employees.

"We deserve what we have! And we're not giving any of it back!"

Oh yes you are, ladies and gentlemen. Despite every attempt to promote yourselves as dedicated and indispensable workers--using millions of dollars of union dues to do so--Americans are wising up. So are some of the politicians who are beginning to realize you can't get blood from a stone. What CSEA workers in New York are really demanding is more debt, more borrowing and more fiscal irresponsibility for nothing more than their own benefit. And if they don't get want they want is there any doubt Greek-style "demonstrations" aimed at making life miserable for average New Yorkers will be part of their agenda?

Ask any New Yorker who endured an illegal transit strike two years ago the answer to that question.

Government at every level in every state across the country has reached the proverbial fork in the road: we're either headed back towards fiscal sanity, or we're all headed for Greece. Realistically speaking, the jury's out on which road we're taking for yet another daunting reason: in states like New York and California, there are so many pubic service employees they can carry an election, even if the rest of the public votes against their candidates. In other words, they can literally command an unwilling public to pay for more government--even to the point of fiscal suicide.

Obviously if a state behaves in such a manner, people can move to another state. But what about another country? It is no secret that the federal government is the biggest offender of all. In April it was reported that several employees at the SEC, some of which are making over two hundred thousand dollars a years, spent the entire day watching pornography on their computers. "Each of the offending employees has been disciplined or is in the process of being disciplined, aid SEC spokesman John Nester. "Some have already been suspended or dismissed." Really? Why hasn't every one of them been fired?

"We deserve what we have! And we're not giving any of it back!"

It is worth reminding Americans that public service employees and the Democrat party are joined at the hip. The Obama administration has made it crystal clear that they intend to "spread the wealth around" with unions as both the primary distributors and beneficiaries.

And despite the fact that most Americans don't realize it, Obama and company are willing to subvert the law to do so. This is precisely what occurred when Chrysler and GM were bailed out. Primary credit holders were shoved aside in direct contravention to bankruptcy laws so that the United Auto Workers union could be moved to the head of the line. This despite the fact that bloated union benefits were the primary impetus for car companies going bankrupt in the first place.

And despite the fact that the UAW is a private sector union, billion of dollars of taxpayer money was used to float their boat.

"We deserve what we have! And we're not giving any of it back!"

Nice slogan, but I've got a better one:

Remember in November!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


05/10/10:
Greeks, Leaks and and Double-Speak
05/05/10: Twelve Million Illegals --- or Thirty?
05/02/10: Republicans: Playing Not to Lose Doesn't Cut It
04/28/10: Arizona: Progressivism's Waterloo?
04/26/10: Son of Amnesty
04/22/10: Mortgages and Moral Meltdowns
04/20/10: Bashing Christians — Or Gays?
04/15/10: Personal Integri-‘tea’
04/12/10: Fools, Tools and Ghouls
04/08/10: (Tea) Party On
04/05/10: The Triumph of Mediocrity
04/02/10: Two For the Road
03/29/10: The Innate Immorality of Liberalism
03/24/10: The Art of War
03/22/10: I Want My Country Back
03/18/10: A Perpetual Process
03/17/10: American Exhibitionists
03/15/10: A Light Bulb Moment of Clarity
03/10/10: Little Things Mean A Lot
02/03/10: Budgetary Fork in the Road
02/01/10: Liberal Economic Illiteracy
01/27/10: ‘Roe-ing and Wade-ing’ Back to Reason
01/25/10: Arrogance When Up, Denial When Down
01/20/10: Connecting the Educational Dots
01/19/10: The Next Tea Party?
01/15/10: The Myth That Keeps on Giving
01/13/10: Airport Security Begins Away From the Airport
01/11/10: Secrets and Lies
01/08/10: Embracing Bigotry — or Rejecting Bullying?
01/06/10: Hanging by an Ideological Thread
01/04/10: Our ‘Wonderama’ Bureaucracy
12/30/09: A Day Off
12/28/09: Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2010, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles