Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 19, 2009/ 25 Iyar 5769

Unhappiness Is What We Need

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The experts have it backward.


I speak of the spate of articles, books and boob-tube psychologists who are advising us on how to be happy during the recession. An article in U.S. News & World Report offers 10 happiness tips.


Tip No. 1: Spend 20 bucks on an experience instead of a material thing. Research shows that people feel better when they do things rather than purchase things. This is because, says one expert, "experiences remind us of the thrill of being alive."


That expert is on to something. Every day that the Obama administration takes over more of our lives, I try to forget my worries by spending 20 bucks experiencing the thrill of bourbon at the local pub.


The experts offer another groundbreaking tip: We must pursue meaningful goals to be happy. One psychologist says doing things for wealth or fame don't cut it. She says positive feelings come from personal growth.


I couldn't agree more. I see no point in trying to attain wealth when insane government spending is going to cause massive tax hikes that will take away much of the wealth that my hard work would have produced.


So, while I'm at the pub trying to forget about spending and taxes, I focus on my personal growth. I talk to people and learn new things, such as Irish jokes I haven't yet heard.


The article also advises us to live in the moment. If you're facing a balloon mortgage payment you are unable to pay, says one expert, you should approach the situation with an open and curious attitude.


You shouldn't make judgments on the dumb behavior that got you into your predicament.


That makes sense. If I was dumb enough to take on a mortgage I couldn't afford — dumb enough to take on a gimmicky loan that would reset to a much higher amount a few years down the road — I wouldn't see the point in beating myself up over it.


I'd probably borrow 20 bucks from somebody so I could experience the thrill of being alive at the nearest pub.


Here's an interesting tip: Keep an optimism journal.


The article advises that we write about our dreams and aspirations. My optimism journal has really helped me. I dream of owning a giant machine that prints money. I dream of spending money faster than it can be printed. But then I know I'll never be president, and so I go to the pub to experience personal growth and the thrill of being alive.


No article on happiness would be complete without this oldie but goodie: Recognize your strengths. During difficult times, focus on finding your inner mettle. Don't let your circumstances dictate your attitude.


Of course, that sounds like a bit of work. It would be a lot easier to borrow 20 bucks and adjust your attitude one bourbon at a time.


The article offers other revealing tips on happiness. We're advised to nurture meaningful relationships — we should be open to sharing our experiences with others. We need to have a sense of belonging and acceptance to be happy.


(This is easier to achieve than you think. See multiple references to "pub" and "bourbon" above.)


The article also advises us to count our blessings — look for the silver lining.


It tells us to be kind to others — kindness makes us happier in the end. It tells us to exercise — always good for driving the blues away.


But what it doesn't tell us is this: Unhappiness is what we need.


Recessions have their upside. The unpleasantness forces us to think about our dumb, risky decisions. It forces us to be more thoughtful and careful. It paves the way for lasting happiness.


But nobody wants to hear that. It is easier to be duped by silver-tongued politicians who promise, through massive spending and risky programs, to make our unhappiness go away.And it is easier for me forget about such worries by experiencing the thrill of being alive at the pub.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2009, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles