Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Every Monday Matters: Eat healthy

By Matthew Emerzian and Kelly Bozza


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Annual costs for chronic diseases in the U.S. is big money:


  • $117 billion for obesity

  • $73.4 billion for high blood pressure

  • $448 billion for heart disease and strokes

  • $50 billion for weight-loss aids, diet foods, supplements, and weight-loss medications — and obesity is still increasing 79 percent likelihood exists that an overweight child will become an overweight adult. 75 percent of adults don't eat the recommended daily 5 or more servings of fruits and vegetables. Snack consumption by children has increased 300% from 20 years ago. 400,000 people die annually from poor eating habits and laziness. French fries are the most eaten vegetable in the U.S.

    TAKE ACTION TODAY

    1. If you suffer from or have a family history of any of the aforementioned chronic conditions or diseases, consult your family physician for dietary counseling. 2. Although every individual is unique in his or her dietary needs, here are some ideas to help all of us:


    • Eat more dark green vegetables, legumes, fruits, whole grains, low-fat milk products, and lean meats.

    • Eat fewer foods with refined grains and sugars; reduce your intake of fatty foods with empty calories; and eat smaller portions.

    • Eat slowly so that you will feel full before you've overeaten.

    • Don't reward yourself or children with food.

    • Limit snacking.

    • Develop a routine and eat at similar times each day.

    • Drink plenty of water.


      3. Eat to live; don't live to eat.


      You deserve to be in good health. For most, diabetes, hypertension, and other obesity-related chronic diseases are preventable by simply eating healthily and exercising. You will feel better than ever both mentally and physically — the only way to really live. If you don't want to do it for yourself or your wallet, do it for those who love you. Just start … one day at a time.

      YOU MATTER

      "I have three main pressures on me right now — I need to finish writing my newest book, start marketing my last book which releases in 3 months, and lose 30 pounds by August," shared Laura Thomas of Chicago, Ill. "It is just too overwhelming for me. I don't know how to handle all three at the same time."


      Laura is not different from most Americans. In fact, 70 percent of people say they do not have enough time to do everything they need to do. Unfortunately, because of a lack of time and so much stress, the first thing that falls to the wayside is usually personal health.


      "I just need about three months where I can focus on losing weight and getting in shape," said Laura.


      Don't we all? Wouldn't it be nice if we could just shut down all of our responsibilities in life and just focus on eating right, exercising daily, going to the spa, and getting plenty of sleep? I mean, wouldn't it be great to be the next contestant on "The Biggest Loser" and focus on getting in shape so we could possibly win $250,000?


      Well, as we all know, life doesn't work that way. In fact, unless you are a professional athlete, where your livelihood depends on it, exercising every day is hard to do. This is why eat healthily is so important.


      "I have been in denial," admitted Laura. "I honestly thought that I had to get everything done first and then I could start to focus on my health."


      After seeking guidance from a nutritionist and trainer, Laura realized that she could not have been more wrong.


      "The first thing I had to accept is that I am never going to get a window of time where I can just focus on my health, so I need to make it a part of my everyday life," said Laura. "When we looked at my diet, we realized that I could easily cut out 500 empty calories a day. If that's all I did, I would lose 1 pound a week. That's 52 pounds a year."


      So Laura is starting with the basics. She has stocked her refrigerator and cupboards with healthy foods. No more sodas or sugar-loaded cereals. She has cut out heavy carbohydrates like bread, rice, and potatoes. And, the cookies and ice cream are gone.


      "At first, I didn't think I would be able to handle it," said Laura. "With two young boys in the house, I thought I always need to have junk food around, but they have learned to love eating healthier foods as well."


      Laura has made eating healthily a part of her everyday life. It is no longer something she needs to check off of her To-Do list. It is now a non-factor, a lifestyle.


      "I have lost 5 pounds in the last week, just by slightly changing my diet," said Laura. "I feel so much better already and can't wait to just keep it going. Food definitely matters."

      Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

      Comment by clicking here.


      Previously:



      Learn CPR, the ‘ABCs of life’
      Respect the disabled
      Turn off your TV
      Go exercise
      Write a letter to a soldier
      Thank a firefighter
      Have fun with an elderly person
      Traffic is overrated
      Show your smile
      Donate books
      What matters most
      Support Neighborhood Watch

      © 2009, The Modesto Bee Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles