Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Every Monday Matters: Protect yourself with Internet safety

By Matthew Emerzian and Kelly Bozza


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT)


  • 81 percent of all households have a computer.

  • 75 percent of those households have Internet access.

  • 11 percent of identity theft information is obtained online.

  • More than 300,000 phishing emails are reported annually. (Phishing is a scam where Internet fraudsters send an e-mail or pop-up messages to a user falsely claiming to be an established legitimate enterprise in an effort to steal the user's personal and financial information.)

  • 3.1 days is the average life span of a phishing web site.

  • More than 1 million adult Internet users experience Internet identity fraud annually — 2,983 a day.


    TAKE ACTION TODAY

    1. Create a password that has a combination of upper- and lowercase letters, numbers, and symbols for unlocking your computer and for accessing websites. Use a different password for each site.

    2. Never use an automatic log-in feature that saves your username and password.

    3. Always log off the Internet or your computer when you're finished.

    4. Avoid storing financial information on your computer.

    5. Find and use anti-virus software and a firewall.

    6. Do not open e-mails sent to you by strangers.

    7. Forward spam that is phishing for information to spam@uce.gov and to the company, bank, or organization impersonated in the phishing e-mail.

    8. Order a free credit report every 12 months.

    The emotional impact of Internet identity fraud has been found to parallel that of victims of violent crime. Remain cyber-safe by protecting your computer as if it were your wallet. Practice safe surfing. You'll be glad you did.


    YOU MATTER

    "I obviously knew about identity theft and Internet fraud, but I never thought it would happen to me," admitted Mike Lambert of Cleveland, Ohio. "Boy was I wrong."

    Unfortunately, like thousands of Americans every day, Mike is a victim of Internet fraud, and he is still paying the price today…6 months later.

    "This has been such a painful and frustrating process for me and my family," said Mike. "It's one thing to have thousands of dollars stolen from you, but it's another thing to default on all of your payments, have your credit score killed, and have to fight tooth and nail just to try to reverse the damages."

    Six months ago, Mike walked into his bank to withdraw some money and was surprised to find out that over $50,000 was missing from his account. In other words, he had nothing left.

    "After the initial shock of it, we immediately went to work trying to track down the perpetrator and figure out how they did it," said Mike. "We found four wire transfers to a mysterious company all in the amount of roughly $13,000."

    Well, Company X was just that … a company that no longer existed. Strangely enough it was a company that did business with the same bank but had filed for bankruptcy and shut down. In other words, Mike's money was gone.

    "After retracing my steps, I realized that I checked my bank accounts on a public computer at a photo copy shop," recalled Mike. "I am not sure if I forgot to log out or if they were somehow able to get back into my account and steal my user name and log in information. Regardless, that's where I made my big mistake."

    Cafes, photo copy centers, and public libraries have made it as easy as possible for their patrons to enjoy free Internet by having online computers available, but these are danger areas and hot spots for Internet perpetrators. It is highly recommended not to enter user names, passwords, or any other important personal information on computers in these locations. One never knows who is watching or who will be sitting at that particular computer next.

    "I wish I had known this before because it could have saved me a huge hassle," said Mike. "I have been able to get some of the money back, but my credit score has been a huge problem. It takes so much effort to achieve and maintain a high credit, and, over night, mine was ruined."

    Being violated like this not only has its financial repercussions, but it is also an emotional violation and can ruin relationships.

    "Everyone knows that times are tough these days," said Mike. "Our economy is not great and stress levels are higher than ever. Having this happen to me has put a ton of strain on my marriage and my family. That's been the worst part of the whole thing."

    Internet fraud is not a joking matter. Practice safe surfing. It matters.

    Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

    Comment by clicking here.


    Previously:



    Eat healthy
    Learn CPR, the ‘ABCs of life’
    Respect the disabled
    Turn off your TV
    Go exercise
    Write a letter to a soldier
    Thank a firefighter
    Have fun with an elderly person
    Traffic is overrated
    Show your smile
    Donate books
    What matters most
    Support Neighborhood Watch

    © 2009, The Modesto Bee Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles