Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 18, 2009 / 24 Iyar 5769

Who the bleep is the ACLU?

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Here's a scenario. We release more photos of our alleged abuse of prisoners. Those photos shoot to the Internet.


They are posted in hotbeds of Islamic extremism. Recruits are rallied. Revenge is demanded.


A group of U.S. troops in Iraq or Afghanistan is ambushed, and some are taken prisoner. They are filmed with bags over their heads, as terrorists threaten to slit their throats.


And then they do.


The terrorists don't show the film of that part. But we hear about it. Our families weep. The public is outraged — since the photos we released were clearly the impetus for this act.


What does the ACLU do then?


Does it apologize? Fat chance. Does it demand the terrorists turn over the footage of the beheadings? It can try. And you know what the terrorists' response will be?


Who the bleep is the ACLU?


Which is pretty much what our response should be to demands that more Abu Ghraib-like photos be released to the public. The American Civic Liberties Union blindly trumpets the right to know but ignores the real-life implications of such transparency. Screaming at one side to play by a set of rules when the other side laughs at the idea is not always noble.


Sometimes, it's just stupid.

THE RIGHT TO CHANGE YOUR MIND
This is one of those cases. Yes, I know that we might never have addressed the Abu Ghraib abuses without the initial public airing of photos. But we did. Abu Ghraib was closed. Guantanamo will be closed if President Barack Obama has his way. Investigations have taken place, people have been punished. There is already a harsh light shining on how we handle people captured in the war on terror.


Showing photos of our worst and weakest moments — at this point — doesn't help the cause.


But it could hurt it.


I don't blame the president for saying the photos would not add useful knowledge about abuse. I don't blame him for worrying that such photos "further inflame anti-American opinion and … put our troops in greater danger."


And I don't really care that a month ago, he was saying something else. A good leader learns as he goes along. Holding a person to something he said just because he once said it is to deny development and celebrate muleheadedness.


There's enough of that already.

NO COMPARISONS TO THIS ATROCITY
And at times, the muleheadedness comes from the ACLU. Certainly, this group has done much good. There always should be forces that fight for transparency in civil rights.


But nobody is correct all the time. And the ACLU is wrong on these 44 photos that it has sued for release. Remember, we are not at war with another open society based on democracy and fair play. We are fighting an enemy that will keep its people blind and ignorant to other worlds, while purporting death to anyone who dares to deviate from theirs.


In such a world, photos of our mistakes will not be hailed for their honesty and conscience; they will be used as proof that we must be destroyed.


Some have argued that without photos from the Holocaust, we would never have known its horror. And the Nazis didn't want those released, either. This is just silly. Show me a point where Hitler had transgressions exposed, called for investigations, shut down a concentration camp and spoke openly about past mistakes — and then we can make a comparison.


But that's what happens when ideals are unfettered by reality. You get people wide-eyed angry over principle and totally blind to the harm they could cause. We know of the abuse. We've seen enough photos. There is such a thing as overkill.


And when that overkill could lead to more death — the death of your own people — you should ask yourself what bad you are doing while you're doing so much good.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2009, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles