Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 16, 2008 / 11 Iyar 5768

Obama's learning rules of the game

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Early on in the election process, Barack Obama decided he did not much like the election process.

It was way back in February of last year, and the Democratic National Committee was holding a cattle call for all the candidates in a suburban hotel outside Washington.

The room was stuffed to the bursting point with pols and press, people were jostling to get in, others were shouting outside in the hall, and it was all kind of raucous.

"You know, if you look at all the cameras gathered around and the clickin' of the photographers, the pundits who are collected, sometimes you feel like you are part of a reality TV show," Obama told the audience. "I feel like this is 'American Idol' or 'Survivor,' and you got to figure out if you're going to go to Hollywood or you're going to be voted off the island. But that's not why I'm here."

At the time, I wrote that this was the most "intriguing" line of any candidate's speech. But I also wondered if Obama was going to be another of those very bright candidates who realize how flawed and downright silly the presidential election process can be and aren't willing to play along with it.

Are there "Hollywood" aspects to electing a president? Yeah, that's why they say politics is show business for ugly people. (Except not many ugly people get elected in politics anymore, which is a sign of just how Hollywood it has become.)

But while Obama went on to show himself to be a great speaker and a good campaigner, there were certain aspects of campaigning that still troubled him.

In an interview with NBC's Brian Williams last week, Williams laughingly brought up Obama's questionable bowling skills and his wearing a tie while campaigning with farmers.

Obama didn't laugh off his reply. "I think the American people are smarter than that," Obama said. "The bowling's a wonderful example." Obama said he was having a great time talking to voters and signing autographs when "some woman" invited him to bowl a couple of frames and "although I haven't bowled in 25 years," he went and he did so (bowling a 37 in seven frames).

"And I'm out there and I'm having a great time, you know? And suddenly, this becomes some big sort of signifier of whether or not I'm in tune with blue-collar culture," Obama complained.

He went on: "Sometimes I wear a tie, sometimes I don't. Sometimes I wear a flag pin, sometimes I don't. You know, sometimes I like a burger and a beer. Sometimes a glass of wine and a steak is good. But this doesn't have much to do with how I'm gonna lead the country."

And you know what? Obama is absolutely, positively right. And you know what? It doesn't really matter that he is right.

The process is the process, the game is the game. And you can spend your time exposing how flawed the game is, or you can spend your time winning it.

In the past few weeks, it has become clear to me that Obama intends to win it. In West Virginia, he shot some pool at a billiards hall, and when he sank a ball on the break and then pocketed two more, he said, "That's a sign of a misspent youth."

(This did not lead to victory for him in West Virginia. But the game is a long one.)

While Obama was campaigning in Oregon this week, a local reporter asked him: "If you had a tattoo, what would it be and where would you put it?"

Obama replied that if he were forced to get a tattoo, "I suppose I'd have to have Michelle's name tattooed somewhere very discreet."

A funny answer. And so much better than saying, "This doesn't have much to do with how I'm gonna lead the country."

We want our presidents to be real and human. They don't always have to tell us what we want to hear. And voters can be much more understanding than candidates sometimes give them credit for.

Before the crucial West Virginia primary in 1960, Hubert Humphrey denounced John F. Kennedy as "a millionaire's son who had never worked a day in his life."

Kennedy was shaking hands with coal miners in the state one day, when one grizzled old miner held onto his hand and wouldn't let go. "Is it true you're a millionaire's son who never worked a day in your life?" the miner asked.

Kennedy gulped and said, "Yeah, I guess so."

The miner slapped him on the back and said, "Lemme tell you, son, you ain't missed a thing."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2008, Creators Syndicate