Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 2, 2008 / 27 Nissan 5768

Small improvements

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Not everything that you can add to a computer system, or to a personal device such as a smartphone, is a "big" improvement. Sometimes, small enhancements can make a big difference.


Take the Actionetec Wireless Broadband Router the folks at Verizon gave me for the FiOS fiber-optic Internet service at "La Casa Kellner." The router in and of itself isn't at all bad: it provides a connection to the FiOS service, a direct connection to the router for a desktop computer and up to three other devices, and a wireless Internet signal for the rest of the house.


At least that's the theory: in practice, the Wi-Fi signal didn't reach from the basement, where my office is, to the second-floor guest room where my spousal unit (as the Census Bureau would call her) does her thing. What to do?


My first try was an Apple Inc. wireless AirPort device that should have grabbed the signal in an appropriate strength. Its performance wasn't great, though I don't believe this was Apple's fault. In fact, I can assert it wasn't because of the one thing I've tried: adding a $150 ANTBOS-24-UN 500mW Booster Antenna from Luxul Corp. of North Salt Lake City, Utah (www.luxul.net).


I was skeptical about the Luxul booster before I tried it: could switching antennas on the router for one that has 500 milliwatts of extra electrical power do the trick? Well, it seems it can, since I now get a sufficient Wi-Fi signal in that same room. The firm also makes a one-watt amplifier that I plan to test shortly, but this might be more than we need.


Getting a Wi-Fi signal through the house is sometimes a challenge; the previous users put their router on the first floor and the signal was fine on all three levels. In my case, it's imperative that I have a direct connection to the highest speed available at my desk, so the location of my home office dictated placement.


The Luxul product seems a good one, and although the price may equal that of some routers themselves, if you need the power, you'll find this a good buy. The mail order firm of Tiger Direct (www.tigerdirect.com) is the best current retail source for the Luxul Wi-Fi line, although the firm is said to be working on other retail options.


Another small improvement is also wireless related, this time for the iPhone I'm privileged to use. Griffin Technology of Nashville, whose accessories I've previously praised here, has come out with "ClearBoost," a $29.95 antenna and case for the iPhone which claims to boost signal strength.


The concept is simple: put the phone in the casing, which also helps protect the device, and you're able to get better cell phone reception. Griffin claims the copper-based antenna, which includes a "stub" at the top of the case, is tuned to work best within the 824-894 MHz band that AT&T Wireless uses.


I "field tested" the ClearBoost recently on a trip which took me through Denver and the state of Washington, specifically the south-central city of Walla Wall, and College Place, a nearby suburb. In those places, and on a Sunday afternoon drive south to Pendleton, Oregon, I had excellent cellular reception and I can only credit the Griffin product; similar trips in equally non-urban areas weren't as pleasant. The ClearBoost gives an iPhone a real boost, and for not a whole lot of money.


It's spring, so perhaps it's time to add memory to your computer. I remain a fan of Nampa, Idaho-based Crucial Technology (www.crucial.com), as one of the best suppliers of RAM, and now at very reasonable prices. Adding more memory to most desktop and notebook computers is an easy process, and the resulting performance boost will make you wonder why you hadn't done it earlier.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles