Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 15, 2007 / 27 Iyar, 5767

Defeatist Dems boost enemy's morale

By Kathryn Lopez


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Supposed leaders — such as Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid — declare that the war is lost. Thus, we have a video from Al Qaeda's No. 2 nut, Ayman al-Zawahiri, rejoicing. We've got them now, al-Zawahiri figures. And I'd think the same if I were a jihadist.


Maybe we can chalk this Democratic rhetoric up to the partisan ways of Beltway. But what happens in the Beltway doesn't stay there. And when we're dealing with war, irresponsible rhetoric isn't chiefly a breach of domestic politeness — it's a slap in the face to our troops abroad and a morale boost for their foes on the battlefield.


The war critics' attitude has been all wrong since the so-called surge began. The critics on left and right alike have refused to give the surge a chance, including prominent Democrats who initially supported the war and a Democratic Senate that unanimously approved Army Gen. David H. Petraeus to go to Iraq, declaring his efforts a failure while he was just getting started. True leaders might have considered — instead of shooting their military in the collective foot and giving moral support to the enemy — taking a deep breath and realizing that the brave sacrifices of Americans, Iraqis and our allies have earned Petraeus and his forces a chance to succeed.


The last few weeks didn't have to be like this and the summer months don't need to follow the same pattern, building toward another showdown between Congress and the president in September. If the leaders on the Democratic side had been adult about it — instead of throwing tantrums, cheered on by the antiwar left-wing Internet — they could have might have tried something like this: "Mr. President, we don't like what we're seeing in Iraq, and neither do the American. We know you can't either, but we owe it to those who have already sacrificed to give Petraeus our confidence."


And he has it. But we also can't stay in Iraq indefinitely and we can't continue to lose American lives. Knowing that our enemy will only be re-energized by an immediate exit, we must send a united signal to our friends in Iraq that although we want to help to make their new country work, we are not colonial rulers and we cannot be there forever.


Let's set some benchmarks — help them in the chaos of their new government to set some goals. We're their friend and mentor but not their nation builder, which we think you agree with us on. Mr. President, we live in dangerous times. Mistakes have been made but — unified and responsible — we can avoid making fatal ones now.


The war in Iraq has not been a grand success, to say the least. We can all agree on that. Americans don't like to lose. We can agree on that, too. Now let's go from there and try to come to a reasonable compromise that won't leave the legacy of our fallen and the Iraqi people high and dry. Had Democratic leaders in Congress taken that approach, they would have proven themselves statesmen. Instead, I fear, the majority party in Congress may be leading us to greater dangers we could have avoided.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles