Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 21, 2007 / 4 Sivan, 5767

Order on our borders: GOPers blocked immigration reform, leaving Dems to fashion a sensible compromise

By Jack Kelly

>
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Lou Barletta was elected Tuesday to a third term as mayor of Hazleton, a city of about 31,000 in northeastern Pennsylvania. Such an election normally would attract little national attention. But members of the U.S. Senate would be well advised to pay close attention to it.


A Republican, Mr. Barletta won his own primary, 1,343 votes to 80, in what the local newspaper, the Standard-Speaker, said "appears to be the biggest landslide in city history."


Mr. Barletta also won the Democratic primary, as a write-in candidate. He received 1,211 votes to 699 for the Democrat on the ballot, his predecessor as mayor.


What accounts for Mayor Barletta's amazing popularity in a city where registered Democrats outnumber Republicans by nearly 2-1?


Last August Hazleton passed ordinances which impose a $1,000 a day fine on any landlord in the city who rents to an illegal immigrant, and revokes for five years the business license of any employer who hires one. Prospective renters would be required to appear at city hall with proof of citizenship, or of a legal right to be in America.


Another ordinance declares English to be Hazleton's official language. City employees are forbidden to translate documents into other languages without official authorization.


Mayor Barletta says the ordinances are necessary because illegal immigrants have been driving up the crime rate and swamping the schools and the local hospital. I think they are too severe. But the people of Hazleton evidently disagree.


Meanwhile, the Senate is taking up a "comprehensive" immigration reform bill which would provide a fairly gentle path to citizenship for most of the estimated 12 million illegals already here.


Many Republicans in the Senate are expected to sign onto the bill because it doesn't appear to be as bad as the McCain-Kennedy bill proposed last year, and it's the best that can be expected to emerge from a Democrat-controlled Congress.


This has caused a firestorm of criticism on the right. Radio talk show hosts Rush Limbaugh and Hugh Hewitt have denounced the bill, as have the editors of National Review. GOP lawmakers have been inundated with irate emails and telephone calls.


I'm strongly opposed to illegal immigration. A nation's first responsibility is to control its borders, and we don't. Our failure to secure our borders is a threat to national security. Three of the six would-be terrorists who planned to massacre soldiers at Fort Dix came into this country illegally. Two of them entered from Mexico.


But I think most of the illegal immigrants are decent, hard-working people who are an asset to this country, or would be if our policies weren't so screwed up. I want the government to know who is in the country. I want to keep out the crooks and the terrorists. But I think it would be insane, and immoral, to try to throw all of these people out.


Most Americans agree with me. A Gallup poll in April indicates 78 percent of respondents think illegals presently in the country ought to be given a chance at citizenship.


I've only read summaries of the bill's provisions, but the compromise doesn't look bad. Illegals would have to qualify for citizenship; they wouldn't be granted amnesty automatically, as they were in 1986. There would be beefed up border security and stricter enforcement of employer hiring.


"My first impression ... is that it contains most of the principles conservatives have sought," said conservative Web logger Bruce Kesler.


But Bruce is worried — as am I — by weasel words and escape clauses: "I'm struck that most of these principles are dependent on future appropriations or mere administration certifications," he said.


In 1986 Congress passed an immigration reform bill in which amnesty was granted to illegals already here in exchange for stricter border enforcement. The amnesty provision was implemented. The enforcement provisions were not.


I blame the duplicitous mush in the Senate bill chiefly upon the anti-immigrant hardliners. We could have had a comprehensive bill last year with serious enforcement provisions, but the retromingent wing of the Republican Party would countenance nothing that smacked of amnesty. So now Democrats call the shots.


I also blame President Bush. His apparent refusal to get serious about border enforcement has enraged many conservatives, driving them toward more extreme positions. An indication of the Bush administration's lack of seriousness is that just two miles of the border fence Congress authorized last year has been built.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration. Comment by clicking here.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2007, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles