Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 15, 2007 / 27 Iyar, 5767

Why this pro-lifer will likely be voting for Rudy

By Jack Kelly

>
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'm against abortion under most circumstances. So why does Rudy Giuliani's firm declaration of support for a procedure I abominate make me more likely to support him for the Republican nomination for president?


I'll be a single issue voter in 2008. If we don't win the war on terror, nothing else will matter very much.


All four of the Republicans who have a realistic chance of winning say the right things about the war on terror. So does George W. Bush. Mr. Bush is an honest, brave, compassionate man whose heart is in the right place. But his head's been somewhere else. The mistakes his administration have made have put our mission in Iraq in serious jeopardy.


After six years of the Bush administration, I yearn for competence in the White House. I want a president who will run the government, instead of being intimidated by his own bureaucracies. I want a president who will appoint competent people to key positions, not the likes of Alberto Gonzales or Michael Brown. I want a president who not only understands what's at stake in the war on terror, but who can communicate those stakes effectively to the American people.


Which is why I'm attracted to Rudy. His two terms as mayor of New York City are a masterpiece of effective conservative governance. As former Rep. Pat Toomey notes: "Despite powerful local obstacles, Giuliani was able to significantly cut taxes; hold spending increases down below the rates of inflation and population growth; overhaul the welfare system; deregulate and privatize many local government services; and join the fight for school choice."


While Rudy Giuliani was mayor, the crime rate in New York City fell 56 percent, the murder rate by 66 percent. No one could have responded better in the aftermath of 9/11 than he did.


Conservatives tend to fail in Washington because they face a hostile bureaucracy and a hostile media. But Rudy succeeded despite facing greater hostility in New York.


The others have good credentials, too. Sen. John McCain is a war hero who knows the military well. Mitt Romney demonstrated superb management skills as governor of Massachussetts, in rescuing the Salt Lake City Olympics, and in private business. No one communicates better than does former Sen. Fred Thompson.


Many conservatives have expressed dissatisfaction with their choices for 2008. I am not among them. I think all four would make better presidents than the one we have now, and much better presidents than any of the Democratic candidates.


But senators are known more for bloviation than for their managerial skills. We know what Sen. McCain and Sen. Thompson want to do, but we don't know how effective they'd be at doing it. Gov. Romney is at least Rudy's equal as a manager, but Mr. Giuliani's experience in New York City and before that as a U.S. attorney is more directly relevant to the war on terror.


So I like Rudy best on the war on terror. But I'm not yet in his corner because the others are so close behind, and the paramount issue isn't the only issue.


I don't really care what Mr. Giuliani's personal views are on abortion. (He said he thinks the procedure is immoral, but that it is a choice women should be permitted to make.) I do care who he will appoint to the federal bench.


For me, the most important domestic issue is to have judges who will follow the Constitution rather than impose their political views by judicial fiat. Former Solicitor General Ted Olson, a solid and competent conservative, (would that he were attorney general instead of Alberto Gonzales!) has been a friend of Rudy's since they served together in the Reagan Justice Department. He says Rudy is a strict constructionist who will appoint judges like (Chief Justice) John Roberts and Samuel Alito.


If that's so, I'm pretty much sold, because Rudy's record on cutting taxes and controlling spending is better than that of the others. But I want to hear more before I make up my mind. (It wouldn't hurt to drop some hints that Ted Olson would be his attorney general. Policy is personnel, a lesson President Bush never seems to learn.)


A Giuliani trait I like very much is his tendency to say what he thinks. (Slate magazine has done a hilarious animation of a 1999 radio conversation he had with a ferret advocate, in which he said the advocate should seek mental help.) So my interest in Rudy cooled a bit because of his apparent waffling on abortion.


Only a president who tells us what we need to know as opposed to what we want to hear can lead us to victory in the war on terror. So though I don't like what Rudy has to say about abortion, I do like it that he's telling me clearly where he stands.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration. Comment by clicking here.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2007, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles