Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 22, 2006 / 24 Iyar, 5766

Beautifying the ugly American

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Before you travel abroad, please brush up on your traveling skills."


"My traveling skills?"


"A nonprofit group, Business for Diplomatic Action (BDA), surveyed people in 130 countries. They found that much of the world perceives Americans to be loud, arrogant, ignorant, rude, boastful and unwilling to listen."


"Has Teddy Kennedy been globe-trotting again?"


"Thankfully, BDA offers help: the World Citizens Guide. It offers 25 tips on how Americans can help change negative perceptions while they travel."


"I get it. You want us to be ambassadors."


"Exactly. For starters, Americans need to dress better. In some countries, casual dress is a sign of disrespect. So wear a suit and tie. You can always remove them if you find you're overdressed."


"A suit and tie on vacation! But I just picked up five Hawaiian shirts at the Wal-Mart."


"And enough with the boasting. Talking about our wealth, power and status creates resentment in many countries."


"The ingrates. You'd think with all the dough we're dropping on their little countries, they'd be grateful."


"When conversing with people of other cultures, be sure to match your voice level and tonality to theirs."


"But I tried that. I talked low and in a tone that suggested everybody was irritating me. Still, the French wanted nothing to do with me."


"Always keep your conversations local. Don't assume other cultures care about American movies or the Super Bowl. Ask questions about their culture."

Donate to JWR


"I did that, too. In Italy I asked everybody why they're so rude. Nobody waits in lines over there. I had to elbow some old lady to get a slice of pizza."


"Americans need to be more patient. Most cultures don't move as fast as ours. Slow down the way you eat and talk."


"I tried, but I couldn't help but gobble down the Quarter Pounder I had at the McDonald's joint in Rome. Man, those Italians know how to grill a burger."


"Keep your religion private. Globally speaking, religion is very personal. Unless you are a professional missionary, do not share your religion with others."


"I couldn't agree more. Hey, anybody think of introducing this concept to that guy who runs Iran?"


"Place special emphasis on learning the local customs. Did you know that in Japan it's considered rude to look someone in the eye for more than a few seconds?"


"Yeah, well maybe somebody should have told the Japanese it's rude to make cars so much better than ours. Poor General Motors."


"In Thailand, it's illegal to exit the country with an image of the Buddha."


"No kidding. In Afghanistan, it was illegal to have images of the Buddha. I guess that's why the Taliban nuts blew up those ancient, mountain-sized sculptures."


"Be aware of the power of hand gestures. Europeans wave 'good bye' and 'hello' by wagging their fingers up and down, while keeping their palm out and their hand and arm stationary. But in Europe, the common American wave means 'no.'"


"Hey, how about the next time they ask us for assistance, we wave at them?"


"Americans are notoriously poor with geography. Be sure to bring a map so you can familiarize yourself with the local region."


"Map? What is this thing you call a 'map'?"



"And locals appreciate when you learn some basic statements in their language."


"Yeah, that can be useful, too. I learned how to say, 'Hey, pal, where's the john?' in five languages. That could come in handy in an emergency."


"The point is the world is unhappy with America right now. Many people dislike our foreign policy and the war in Iraq. They worry that our culture is overtaking theirs."


"It ain't easy being the only superpower."


"The truth is Americans are generous, enthusiastic and industrious. If the 60 million Americans who travel each year can embrace 25 simple travel tips, perhaps we can begin to change the negative perceptions the world holds of us."


"OK, I'll give it a whirl. But I'm going to wear a Hawaiian shirt with my suit and tie."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2006, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles