Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 29, 2006 / 2 Sivan, 5766

Wars change with times, not soldiers

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It was a black-and-white photo. My father in uniform. It sat in a frame on a tabletop. From my earliest memory, that photo was part of our family story.


"That's when dad was in the Army, right?" we kids would ask.


"The Air Force," he would say.


"The Air Force," we'd repeat.


Most of my friend's fathers had these photos, too. Man in uniform. Stripes on the arm. A hat or a helmet. Maybe a weapon.


As the oldest boy in our family, I figured one day there would be a photograph of me in my uniform. I remember in the mid-1960s, when a female cousin from New York got engaged to man in "the service." That's how our family referred to it back then. "He's in the service."


When we met him for the first time, he was wearing his uniform, a crisp, light tan outfit. His hair was cut short. He smoked cigarettes.


So this was a soldier, I thought.


And again, I figured, I would one day look like that.


In those days, which were not so long ago, soldiers were part of every family. The grandfathers and uncles had fought in World War II. The fathers had fought in Korea. The sons were going to Vietnam.


The odds of a family having personal experience with the military were pretty high. I'll bet if you went from garage to garage in my old neighborhood, you'd find some memento — a medal, an Army knife, a set of dog tags — in nearly every one.

Donate to JWR


Today, that is not the case. Today, the houses with soldier stories are limited. Frequently, they are in the working-class areas. Often they are in poor and minority areas. You can't drive through chic neighborhoods in the suburbs and expect to find many folks talking about their kids being "shipped overseas," code words in our day for a soldier's duty.


And so for the general population, Memorial Day, which is today, becomes more and more about wars past and less and less about those fighting today. The families with members in Iraq, Afghanistan or elsewhere are clustered in certain sections of the country.


And while most Americans have an opinion on the latest war — and Lord knows we get polled enough about it — the majority of us are not living in fear of a phone call or a telegram with the worst kind of news.


Think about how the nature of military service has changed since the 1940s. Back then, kids lied about their age to sign up. They fought with passion. Their safe return home was the stuff of Hollywood movies. The pride in a soldier — both his own and his family's — was tangible.


We moved to the 1960s, where war touched every home, but not always with pride. Young men often tried to defer their service, or find loopholes out of it. Soldiers returning from Vietnam were not hailed. At times, they were hooted.


Then came the all-volunteer military, which is now our norm. Some join this military to fight the bad guys. Some do it for opportunity or money. And some of them have to listen to their actions questioned and criticized by everyone from their neighbors to talk radio.


What we all need to remember is, no matter what the politics or where the war takes place, fighting in the name of your country is always a sacrifice, and, when it comes to the soldiers themselves, nearly always a noble one.


So when a soldier is lost, yesterday, today or tomorrow, he or she should be honored and mourned. That is what Memorial Day is about. Not hot dogs. Not charcoal. It's about the line that connects all those photos that sit on tabletops and mantles, the best and the bravest, and the ones who never came back.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"The Five People You Meet in Heaven"  

A novel that explores the unexpected connections of our lives, and the idea that heaven is more than a place; it's an answer. Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2006, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles