Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 10, 2005 / 1 Iyar, 5765

Monumental failure

By Michael Goodwin


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It is a disgrace, a sign of incompetence on a massive scale, proof of a failure to communicate at the highest levels. The delay at Ground Zero is all that, but it is something else, too. It is a chance to go back to the drawing board and, this time, get it right.

Getting it right doesn't mean redesigning the Freedom Tower to make it more secure. No, getting it right means going back to first principles. Back to why we ever cared about Ground Zero and to reaffirm that what happened there on Sept. 11, 2001, still matters and will always matter.

Silly, you say. Of course we care about Ground Zero and the people who died there.

Really? Then let me ask, when was the last time you were there? If it's been awhile, welcome to the club.

So go — but be prepared for disappointment. And anger. For coming up on four years since that fateful day, Ground Zero is basically just a big hole in the ground. It's worse than ordinary. It's dreary.

And it's getting worse. The master plan driving the rebuilding has chopped the 16 acres into pieces, each of which will be layered and jammed with huge buildings, streets and noisy transit facilities. The result, I fear, is that Ground Zero will never be the grand, yet simple spot that captures the meaning of 9/11.

Already it has become so packed and complicated that, even when you're there, it requires effort to remember why this ground is hallowed.

I went the other day, part of a group from the Daily News trying to figure out what had gone wrong. There's no doubt Gov. Pataki, who performed brilliantly at times in guiding the process, has dropped the ball. There's no doubt Mayor Bloomberg has never left his heart at Ground Zero.

And it is inexplicable the NYPD could have serious concerns about security for 16 months, as it claims, yet fail to get any attention. Last time I looked, the NYPD worked for the mayor, who is, after all, the mayor. Then there's the Port Authority, which never fails to disappoint.

All that was going through my head as our group met with rebuilding officials, and then stood outside the site to get a refresher course on the plan. Here are the PATH tracks, over there's where the Freedom Tower will be, that spot marks where Fulton St. will cut through.

The little orange traffic cones arranged in big squares? They mark the footprints of the twin towers.

We descended into The Pit. Down the long ramp, a beautiful spring sun above. We were walking and talking when, suddenly, I looked around and realized we were standing inside the orange cones. People died on this spot, and now it's a piece of unmarked dirt, stones, gravel, dust. A picture of my friends Jack and Kathleen Lynch and their family carrying the remains of their firefighter son Michael out of The Pit flashed before my eyes. And here we stand, on a beautiful day, talking about the schemes of politicians, the economics of real estate.

This is not right. We must fix this mess. Before it is too late.

I don't care about the Freedom Tower, which, while a beautiful building, seems mostly a monument to the twin towers. What Ground Zero needs first is a monument to the people of 9/11.

It doesn't have to be fancy or technically hip. All our great war monuments — Gettysburg, Normandy, Pearl Harbor, the Vietnam Wall — are simple, even stark. They are dignified because they are solemn, not because somebody turned them into glitzy, teched-up theme parks.

Ground Zero must join that roll call of honor. It should have done so long ago.

So when we visit, we can sit, and think, and pray. In a place where birds sing and flowers bloom, we can study the names of the lost and remember that the ground we stand on was a battlefield and is now a permanent resting place for many.

Then we can tell our children and their children why it matters.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Michael Goodwin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, NY Daily News Distributed by Knight Ridder/Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles