Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 10, 2014 / 10 Nissan, 5774

Parting ways with stuff, making space for more memories

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Years ago, I had a stunning realization that has served me well in all my seasons since.

Simply put, it is this: The mark of a good outing is how little stuff you have to drag along.

I believe that to be absolutely true, whether the journey be a quick trip to the park or a rite of passage on the road of life.

Unfortunately, unlike you, I don't always stick to my beliefs.

I became a mother at 23, had no family nearby, aside from a husband who was hip-deep in teaching high school and coaching. But as fate would have it, my good neighbor Myra found the grace to take me under her capable wing.

Some 10 years my elder, and the mother of three to my one (when we first met), Myra was possessed of many fine gifts, including the strength of Samson, the patience of Job, the wisdom of Solomon and a vast collection of Tupperware.

What she saw in me I will never know. I remember the day she called to say: "I'm taking my kids to the park and wondered if you'd like to go, too? Or don't you do that kind of thing?"

My firstborn was 4 months old. I had only recently resumed bathing once a week, whether I needed it or not. Suddenly I was consumed with guilt for having never taken him to a park.

"Uh, sure!" I'd said, trying to recall where I last saw my shoes. "We'd love to join you!"

And so began the first of many outings to the park or the beach or the mall to see Santa, or even a weekend of camping.

I learned a lot from Myra, none the least of which was this: If you travel with a friend who packs twice as much as she needs, you don't need to take half as much stuff along.

At the same time, I began to realize that even without a well-stocked friend, I didn't need so much stuff. Jeans could be reworn. Socks could be washed. Food could be found. Games could be invented. Toys could be imagined. Some things could simply be done without.

And the best part? The less time spent packing and hauling left more time for having fun and making memories.

I had a lot of fun, made a lot of memories and traveled as light as maternally possible while my three kids were growing up. And somehow, I still accumulated an enormous amount of stuff.

After their dad died, I found myself alone in a four bedroom house with five sets of dishes, a garage full of tools I had no clue how to use, and an attic stuffed with sports trophies, Barbie dolls and G.I. Joe action figures.

So much for traveling light.

What is it with stuff? Seems the more you try to get rid of it, the more it digs its claws in your hide like rats on a sinking ship.

Years later, when I remarried and moved to Las Vegas with my new husband, I packed up that house, gave boxes to my kids, had the mother of all garage sales and walked away with half of what I'd owned.

It felt good. I swore I'd never amass so much stuff again.

That was eight years ago. This morning I looked in horror at my closet and realized the rats were back. Not just my rats, but my husband's. The man collects baseball caps the way Myra collected Tupperware. At least Tupperware, to my knowledge, never smells like old sweat.

I did not, I swear, touch any of his stuff. But I bagged up more than half of my own to give to someone who might use it. One person's castoffs can be another's treasure.

My husband promises to do the same this weekend. Or next.

It's hard letting go of things and times and people we once loved. But the only thing worth keeping, really, is memories. Everything else just weighs us down and holds us back.

I want to travel light in life, to keep my closet uncluttered, my suitcase a carry-on, and my heart open wide. Who knows what new treasures await?

I just wish I hadn't gotten rid of all my Tupperware.


Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




© 2014, Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast