Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 3, 2014 / 3 Nissan, 5774

Stranger on a plane becomes connected compatriot

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Call me old-fashioned or just plain old, but one of the things I like about airline travel is being required to shut off cell phones — no talking, texting, emailing, Facebooking or whatevering for the duration of the flight.

The reason I like it is simple. People who aren't glued to cell phones are somewhat more likely to turn to the stranger who is wedged in beside them and engage in what was once known as polite conversation.

This, of course, can be good or bad, based on the social skills, mental health and personal hygiene of the stranger.

Sometimes it's not a give-and-take conversation, but a mind-numbing monologue that makes you want to get in the overhead bin and refuse to come down. I can only imagine what the FAA would have to say about that.

But usually, in my experience, getting to know someone I've never met and will most likely never meet again is a pleasant way to pass a flight. It also helps me to forget the sobering fact that I'm hurtling through the air 35,000 feet above the earth.

Once in a while, if I'm lucky, I strike gold and get to sit next to someone like Sasha — young, 17 or so, gracious, well-mannered and brimming over with life.

I wish you could've seen her.

We started with the question we were both dying to ask: The killer eyelashes on the flight attendant. Real or fake?

"When you get a chance," I whispered, "ask her."

Sasha grinned. "I will."

Then we played a fun game that my kids used to call, "Mom Asks Too Many Questions."

Sasha told me that she was born in Serbia, but had lived in California with her mother since the age of 6.

"I go back every summer to see my family. I love Serbia! It's such a jewel of a country!"

She was on her way to Las Vegas to spend her spring break with the family of a friend.

"Where do you go to school?"

"Monterey High," she said.

I laughed. "Do you know Randall Gym?"

"Yes, sure," she said. "That's where I play volleyball."

"It's named for my late husband," I said. "He taught and coached at Monterey High for years. Our three children all went to school there, too."



With that, Sasha pulled out her yearbook and we spent several minutes comparing notes on how some things have changed while other things have stayed the same. Isn't that always the way life goes?

She told me she's not quite sure yet what she wants to do, but she might like to be a writer.

I nodded and smiled. "I bet you're a wonderful writer."

She said she loves to write and I said I like it, too, though what I really like is having written.

Just then the flight attendant came down the aisle and Sasha asked politely in a whisper, "Your lashes. Are they real?"

The attendant smiled, batted her eyes and shook her head no.

After she left, Sasha said, "I might try lashes for the prom."

Heck, I thought, I might try them tomorrow. At my age, you don't want to wait for a prom.

For a moment, I recalled the tall skinny girl I was at Sasha's age, when my life lay before me, a blank page waiting to be filled.

Suddenly we were landing and it was time to go. I gave Sasha my business card and said if she'd ever like to talk about writing or whatever, I'd be glad to hear from her. Then I wished her the best and said goodbye.

In the cab on my way home I found myself wondering: What will Sasha do with her life?

What will I do with mine?

What will you do with yours?

Every morning, at any age, we wake to find our lives shining before us, another fresh blank page waiting to be filled.

It's a small and wonderful world, with or without killer lashes. Especially if we can shut off the distractions once in a while, and take a little time to turn strangers into friends.


Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




© 2014, Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast