Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 1, 2013/ 21 Nissan, 5773

An easy prediction --- bet on the unpredictable

By Christine M. Flowers

Christine M. Flowers


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) There is something about a late March snowstorm, a gentle finger wagging at us from heaven saying "I'm not finished yet." There is something maddening in the thought that we do not control the seasons, that all of our human capital amounts to nothing in the face of the winds and the rising tides and the steel-colored clouds. It is wholly appropriate that such things happen during this week of miracles, when Jews celebrate deliverance and Christians resurrection. It's a wake-up call that life is gloriously unpredictable.

We write our brackets for the Sweet Sixteen and never expect a sleeping tiger of a school to reach up out of the bottom tier and — on the air gust from a Southwest Philly floater — take up residence at the big dance. Expectations are dangerous when dreamers are in the house.

We never think a man who spoke long and loudly about the sanctity of marriage would be struck off his horse on the way to Cincinnati and hear from the heavens the voice of Rosie O'Donnell telling him that same sex-marriage is a sacrament for the fair-minded, or at least for those who have gay children.

We don't expect that a Casey from Scranton, Senator of Life, Labor and Legal Weapons would reach down into his Pennsylvania heart and find the courage to defy his native tribesman by saying that gun control is a legitimate goal.

We make it through 20 centuries with the certainty that the pope will cling to his office for a lifetime, chained by duty and devotion to the Rock of Peter. And then, a conscientious shepherd, aware that his body can no longer keep pace with his prodigious mind says farewell and a Jesuit — a Jesuit! — comes to the balcony and asks for our blessing.

We are led to believe that the Boy Scouts are resolute and incapable of being bullied into submission by the Taliban of political correctness. But then, they appear to waiver and bow to the L(oud) B(ullies) G(et) T(raction) crowd and say they might drop their ban on openly gay scouts and scout leaders. Or maybe not.

We assume that differences between boys and girls are self-evident, that gender equality does not require identical treatment, that ponytails under football helmets are unfashionable and undesirable. We expect that parents will not exploit their children before television cameras for their own, selfish, moment in the sun. We are surprised when a wanna-be Josephine Flacco is allowed to play because she makes enough noise.

We assume that conservatives will always stand firm against immigrants, pretending to support "legal" immigration while doing everything in their power to eliminate any of the lines they might try to stand in. And then a Cuban from Florida and a tea party favorite from Kentucky show the country that some of the strongest voices in favor of comprehensive immigration reform sit on the right side of the aisle.

We are told that liberals are the ones who will stand up for a ban on assault weapons and make sure that the children of Newtown will not become forgotten footnotes. They demonize the NRA and call conservatives all sorts of unflattering names. And then, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid says, um, never mind.

We believe that a man who excels in sports is also an excellent human being, whether he wins the Tour de France, the Masters or the World Series. We believe in his narrative of humility and struggle. And then, we are sucker-punched when the truth that was there all along makes itself unavoidably clear.

We ask for a conversation on race, pretend to have open hearts and minds, say that the walls that separate us can be breached with honest words. And then someone makes the mistake of actually starting that dialogue in a magazine article and we are shocked, shocked, that he could be so racist. And we continue to lament the fact that we just can't have a conversation about race.

Pennsylvanians believe that never will a drink pass our lips before the benevolent Big Boozer, er, Brother sniffs the vintage and gives us permission. Then, in a move more miraculous than the transformation of water into wine, the House passes a bill making us grown-ups.

We always assumed that someone who had lived in and enjoyed the benefits of this country for more than 30 years would know how to say "thank you" without needing a Spanish interpreter. And then a truck driver from Passaic, N.J., wins the lottery and we find out we were wrong. Que lastima.

Christine M. Flowers is a lawyer and columnist for the Philadelphia Daily News. Comments by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Previously:



03/26/13: 'The personal is political' is no reason to change
03/19/13: A word to the whines --- it was just some high jinks
03/11/13: The Great Race Debate, revisited
03/04/13: Marriage goes beyond love
02/19/13: 2 women, and what they're fighting for
02/04/13: Sadly, Scouting seems poised to give up the fight
01/15/13: Reflections from Gettysburg
01/02/13: The mentally ill vs. those who love them
12/27/12: Rapper learns he's just another guy on probation
12/20/12: Cold, hard truth about the killer
12/10/12: When a warm heart meets a cold manipulator
11/22/12: Some women don't know how good they have it


© 2013, Philadelphia Daily News. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast