Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Ask Mr. Know-It-All

By Gary Lee Clothier




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Q: My mm used to say, "Heavens to Murgatroyd!" Where did that phrase originate? Is it an American expression? I noticed there is a girl from Australia on "Dancing With the Stars" named Peta Murgatroyd. -- B.D., El Segundo, Calif.

A: "Heavens to Murgatroyd!" is, indeed, an American expression and dates from the mid-1900s. The expression was popularized by the cartoon character Snagglepuss on "The Yogi Bear Show" in the 1960s. The phrase is a variant of the older phrase "Heavens to Betsy!"

Snagglepuss may have popularized the phrase, but he was not the original user -- that was Bert Lahr (the Cowardly Lion in "The Wizard of Oz") in the 1944 film "Meet the People."

Murgatroyd was a common surname of the English aristocracy, which may be where Peta Murgatroyd's name came from. By the way, her dance partner is Green Bay Packers' wide receiver Donald Driver.

Q: Summer is on its way, and it won't be long before the tattooed ladies show up on our beaches -- I'm not complaining, mind you. One tattoo that seems to be growing in popularity with younger females is worn on the lower back. This tattoo has a name, but I have no idea what it is. -- D.N.N., Atlantic City, N.J.

A: A tattoo of any design on the lower back is called a "tramp stamp." These tattoos became popular in the latter part of the 1990s. A few years back, even Barbie jumped on board: She was introduced with "Ken" written inside a red heart on her lower back.

Q: Twelve years ago, my husband and I visited Turkey. In a restaurant one evening we were served the most unusual dessert. It was made with shredded chicken and thickened milk. I have been trying to remember the name of this dish. I know the word "dibi" is in it. Can you help me out? Are there any recipes available? -- D.N.D., Santa Rosa, Calif.

A: The dish is called "kazandibi." It can be made with or without chicken. In most recipes, the thickening agent is rice flour. The milk, flour and sugar are cooked until thick and the bottom becomes burnt or caramelized. You can find the recipe in most books featuring Turkish cuisine or on the Internet.

If you or any other readers try kazandibi, let me know how you like it. Email me with the name in the subject line. If enough readers respond, I'll publish the results in a later column.

Q: I grew up in a small town in Ohio during the early '50s. My father had a small IGA grocery store. We later moved to California, but I don't remember seeing them out West. I'm curious when they started, and if they are still in business. -- B.M., Torrance, Calif.

A: IGA (Independent Grocers Alliance) was founded in 1926. IGAs are located in 46 states and in more than 30 countries. IGA operates as a franchise through stores that are owned separately from the main company. The alliance claims to have more than 5,000 members, and it is headquartered in Chicago.

Q: I know actors say "break a leg" instead of "good luck" because they are superstitious. How and where did that get its start? Why do superstitious people think wishing each other bodily harm is less jinxing then wishing someone good luck? -- T.G., Ridley, Pa.

A: There are many explanations for the origin of this term. In my opinion, the most plausible is that there are many definitions for the word "break." The standout is "to deviate from a straight line." To me, this would be a bend in the knee like when one is bowing or curtsying. So those superstitious people aren't wishing bodily harm on the actor; they're suggesting the actor put on a performance good enough to warrant a bow or curtsy.

=<<


Comment by clicking here.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


#32
#31
#30
#29
#28
#27
#26
#25
#24
#23
#22
#21
#20
#19
#18
#17
#16
#15
#14
#13
#12
#11
#10
#9
#8
#7
#6
#5
#4
#3
#2
#1


© 2011, Gary Clothier DISTRIBUTED BY UNIVERSAL UCLICK

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles