Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 26, 2012/ 4 Iyar, 5772

It's everyone's favorite time of year again

By A. Barton Hinkle




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Announcer: Welcome back. If you're just joining us, this is the 67th day of our spring "friembership" drive here at WPDQ public radio — 87.5 on your FM dial — and we have already reached the 19 percent mark on our way to raising $400,000, is that right, Jim?

Station Manager: Yeah that's right, Steve, thanks to the good listeners out there who have been calling and logging on to our website, publicradioforyou.com, and we want to thank each and every one of them, including Myra from Springfield and Alan from Lewiston. That number again is 1-800-227-3456. Steve?

Announcer: We also just had a call from Bob in Greenville.

Station Manager: Thanks, Bob!

Announcer: He didn't pledge any money. Just wanted to know when we were going to bring back "My Word!"

Station Manager: Oh.

Announcer: But we do have a challenge grant this morning! Phil from Georgetown says he will match pledges from divorce attorneys, up to $1,500.

Station Manager: You heard it, members of the legal profession. We have volunteers standing by to take your call at 1-800-227-3456 so you can pledge your support so we can continue to bring you a wide variety of programs here at WPDQ — programs like "Mountain Rhapsodies," with your host, "Bucktooth" Billy Puckett, featuring three uninterrupted hours of vintage Appalachian pennywhistle and jaw-harp recordings from the Great Depression, each Wednesday night at eight.

Announcer: We also have some nice thank-you gifts this year, and Marci is here to tell us about those.

Marci: That's right, Jim. When you pledge at the $25 level you will receive our very handy reusable tote bag, which is made out of 100 percent hemp fiber and has the station logo on the side so you can proudly display your support when you pick up your chard at the farmer's market. At the —

Announcer: I don't know about you, but I can never have enough tote bags.

Marci: Right you are, Steve! At the $50 level you can choose either the station-logo neti pot made out of used computer motherboards, or the combination baseball cap and spaghetti strainer. At the $75 level we have our hand-crank blood-pressure monitor, and at the $100 level you get a pair of fair-trade Himalayan salt-crystal foot detoxification blocks —

Station Manager: Let me jump in here for a second to mention another challenge grant. Donna from Salem wants to challenge any women who were represented in divorce proceedings by Phil from Georgetown and think he did a lousy job to call in, and she will match their pledges up to $3,000.

Marci: OK! Last but not least, at the $200 level we will send you official confirmation of your very own carbon-offset abiu tree planted in the Peruvian rainforest by Rainforest Action and Sustainability Now! with the help of indigenous tribesmen who were paid a living wage. I'm getting two.

Announcer: Thanks, Marci. Later today we'll have a very special on-air interview with Mayor Alvin Gunch of Fairview, who will tell us all about some exciting new plans they have for this year's Rutabaga Festival. That's just one of several pretty significant stories that we'll be putting up today, and we're happy to bring it to you thanks to your pledges at 1-800-277-3456 or www-is-this-pledge-drive-ever-gonna-end. Is this mic still on?

Station Manager: Well, it seems to be our day for challenge grants around here. George from Glen Oak wants to challenge any men who've been . . . uh, how can I clean this up so the FCC won't fine us? Who have gotten a raw deal thanks to Phil from Georgetown and Donna the — I'm quoting here — Donna the Salem Witch, and he's willing to pony up half of everything he has left in his efficiency apartment, which, quote, "isn't much." Ha ha ha!

Marci: Ha ha ha!

Announcer: Ha ha ha! If you've never been a member, now is the time for you to go to the phone and join now.

Marci: That number is 1-800 . . . God, this is like something out of Kafka, isn't it?

Announcer: I was thinking "No Exit" by Sartre. Coming up in just 20 minutes, news at the top of the hour from National Public Radio. We pay over $75,000 for that show, and our marketing folks say it's our most popular feature, but nine out of 10 listeners never cough up so much as a lousy plug nickel to help pay for it. You people make me —

Station Manager: Hey, whaddayaknow! Here's another challenge grant, it's by Donna from Salem again. She says she'll pledge $10,000 if there are any women out there in the audience who ever saw George from Glen Oak naked and didn't throw up a little in their mouths.

Marci: We have volunteers pitching in to take your call so you can support public radio, radio without commercial interruption.

Announcer: Later tonight: a look inside the Federal Reserve Open Market Committee on "Marketplace," brought to you by Monsanto. Monsanto: Growth for a better world.

Station Manager: What's — OK, thanks. Looks like George from Glen Oak has promised to sign over his BMW Z3 roadster to the station if we can find a divorced man whose doesn't have a ragged black hole where his heart used to be.

Marci: Wow! Now there's a real fan of public radio, isn't that right, Steve?

Announcer: It sure is, Marci. That number to call again, 1-800-dear-God-make-it-stop. That's 1, 800, somebody kill me, please kill me now. And here with the traffic and weather is Kevin.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

A. Barton Hinkle is Deputy Editor of the Editorial Pages at Richmond Times-Dispatch Comment by clicking here.


Previously:




03/29/12: GOP disillusionment is a good thing
03/27/12: Just what America needs: more red tape
03/20/12: Nation wondering: what happening to language?
02/21/12: Culture warriors resort to propaganda
02/15/12: Step away from that cookie and grab some air
02/08/12: Lessons in heresy
02/01/12: Do We Really Need Pickle-Flavored Potato Chips?
01/11/12: Shut up, they explained
12/30/11: A Modest Proposal: Let's Ban All Sports!
12/26/11: A Christmas letter from the Obamas
02/24/11: Will the next Watson need us?
12/24/10: Here Are Some Good Gifts for People You Hate
06/15/10: The Presinator
05/26/10: More than equal
04/08/10: Angry Right Takes a Page From Angry Left but guess who is ‘ugly’?
02/16/10: Either Obama owes George W. Bush an apology, or he owes the rest of us a very good explanation for his about-face on wiretapping
02/03/10: Talkin' to us 'tards
01/27/10: I never thought I'd see the day when progressives would howl in ragebecause the Supreme Court said government should not ban books
01/07/10: Gun-Control Advocates Play Fast and Loose
12/31/09: Nearly everything progressives say about neoconservative interventionism abroad applies to their own preferred policies at home





© 2011, A. Barton Hinkle

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast