Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 2, 2010/ 18 Nissan 5770

Two For the Road

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | At some point, the Republican party is going to need a national standard-bearer — one who both talks and walks the conservative agenda. Anything less, or anything resembling the kind of Republican willing to "compromise" with Democrats on such issues as cap and trade, or illegal immigration "reform," is an utter waste of time, money and energy. And though it may be too early to cross some people off the list, here's a couple of folks who have made the kind of blunders that make it impossible for me to take them seriously: Mitt Romney and Sarah Palin.

A lot of people wonder why Mitt Romney can't seem to get over the hump and connect with the electorate at a level where it's obvious that he could pose a serious to challenge Barack Obama — or Hillary Clinton — in 2012. That one's easy: Mitt reminds too many people of someone they know who wants to be "one of the guys," but doesn't have the slightest idea how to do it. He's a little too tan, a bit too coiffured, and gives one the impression that he irons his underwear in secret. In other words, he's a stiff who can't connect with a public which instinctively knows when charisma is genuine — and when it's manufactured for public consumption.

That being said, a stiff with genuine conservative credentials is not a deal-breaker. Here's the deal-breaker: he's another faux-conservative. How do I know that? Because Mitt is out there defending RomneyCare, which is the Massachusetts version of ObamaCare. As I have detailed in previous columns, that program, which forced people to buy insurance, raised premiums, and continues to drain state coffers at an unacceptable rate can't be explained away by the man responsible for its creation. That's a political resume' tailor made for defeat.

Sorry, Mitt. No sale.

Sarah Palin? Certainly a step up from Romney, but only a baby step. And before anyone gets started, I have devoted a ton of time and energy defending Ms. Palin in both print and in conversations with dullards who can't fathom how much of the animosity they feel for her is based on one of the most vicious smear campaigns ever perpetrated against any politician in recent memory. In short, a lot of folks have been manipulated by the media and they don't even realize it. In this case, the "lie(s) repeated often enough" has been very effective, and while such overt lying makes me angry, revenge isn't a primary motivating factor for me or a lot of other voters when it comes to selecting a presidential candidate.

Letter from JWR publisher

Once again, if that were all there was to it, I wouldn't be crossing Ms. Palin off my list. What's gets her off my list is simple: she's out in Arizona stumping for John McCain's re-election. A lot of people would counter that argument with the idea that she's only doing it out of loyalty to McCain for making her a national political figure. That's precisely what's wrong: if Palin were a genuine conservative, her loyalty to the conservative movement and the country would supersede her loyalty to the primary symbol of everything that's wrong with today's Republican party. All she's doing is making it harder for Republicans to purge RINOs — and all the attendant devastation the have wreaked — from their party.

In other words, Palin, whether she realizes it or not, is buying into the "old boys club" mentality in which principle is trumped by comity: we are members of the elitist political class first, and our ideological differences will always be secondary to that membership.

Haven't conservatives had enough of that kind of thinking yet?

There is no such thing as a perfect standard-bearer for a political party, movement, or ideology. But unless I'm completely obtuse, Americans are yearning for principled people to rescue them from the hacks and charlatans currently in charge. They're tired of seeing their country held hostage by progressive extremists whose disdain for American values is palpable, and whose utter contempt for individual freedom and prosperity is beyond dispute. I can't remember a time when the political ruling class and their media sycophants have had less respect for the public — and no problem showing it — than they do right now.

No doubt many people will see this as one of those "conservative eating their own" kind of columns, but it's not. It's about integrity, which is often the only thing that keeps one going when life turns hard. Far too many Americans are already willing to trade integrity for "free" health care, a "government modified" mortgage, or a host of other carrots held in front of them by a federal government whose resemblance to a pimp grows sharper every day. Much of human nature is about taking the path of least resistance — -which is why it is so important to resist such instincts, especially when they're portrayed as virtues.

Winston Churchill once remarked, "Americans can always be counted on to do the right thing…after they have exhausted all other possibilities." This is one American who believes most of the country is absolutely exhausted — with unprincipled politicians. Conservatives have more than two years to sift through candidates, to do the "right thing" as it were. And sure, some compromises will have to be made — eventually. But conservatives should start with principles first and move to compromise second, not vice versa. We know where the alternative leads, which is why John McCain is in Arizona trolling for votes instead of occupying the Oval Office.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


03/29/10:
The Innate Immorality of Liberalism
03/24/10: The Art of War
03/22/10: I Want My Country Back
03/18/10: A Perpetual Process
03/17/10: American Exhibitionists
03/15/10: A Light Bulb Moment of Clarity
03/10/10: Little Things Mean A Lot
02/03/10: Budgetary Fork in the Road
02/01/10: Liberal Economic Illiteracy
01/27/10: ‘Roe-ing and Wade-ing’ Back to Reason
01/25/10: Arrogance When Up, Denial When Down
01/20/10: Connecting the Educational Dots
01/19/10: The Next Tea Party?
01/15/10: The Myth That Keeps on Giving
01/13/10: Airport Security Begins Away From the Airport
01/11/10: Secrets and Lies
01/08/10: Embracing Bigotry — or Rejecting Bullying?
01/06/10: Hanging by an Ideological Thread
01/04/10: Our ‘Wonderama’ Bureaucracy
12/30/09: A Day Off
12/28/09: Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2010, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles