Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 21, 2009/ 27 Nissan 5769

Facebook fatigue

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My father was born in 1933. He was a paperboy in the days when paperboys stood on city corners and shouted "Extra!"


The printed newspaper was king as my father came of age. In his home, it still is king. He has two newspapers delivered daily. He reads every inch of both. He does the crossword puzzles in both, too — with a pencil.


(Note to people under 25: A pencil is a small, yellow, wooden stick that leaves a mark when its tip is pressed against paper.)


My father is aware that people these days do crossword puzzles on their computers — and cell phones or BlackBerrys — but such an idea is nutty to him. Only an idiot would bring electronic equipment into the bathroom.


To be sure, my father has shunned the communications marvels of modern times. He uses my mother's cell phone from time to time — but only to avoid long-distance charges when calling out-of-state numbers.


He has never sent or received an e-mail.


He never searches the Web for information. He uses the White Pages or Yellow Pages.


(Note to people under 35: The White Pages and Yellow Pages are thick directories of people and businesses that are left at your door once a year.)


And so, it is safe to say, there are two other things my father will never ever do: use Facebook or Twitter.


Facebook.com is a social-networking Web site where people post important updates for their electronic "friends," such as detailed descriptions, including pictures, of what they ate for breakfast.


Twitter.com is similar to Facebook, except the descriptions are much more brief. They're called "tweets" and they're essentially little telegraph messages ("Ate oatmeal today. Was good.")


There certainly are upsides to these new technologies. If you are a stay-at-home mom and you are isolated from adults all day, it surely is helpful to share witty notes, over the Internet, with other adults.


I've not been using Facebook very long, but the tool has helped me locate — and be located by — friends I haven't talked to for years. Some 300 million are using the tool, so there is a good chance a lot of people from your past have a profile page on the site.


Which brings us to the downside.


Maybe there is a reason your old friends are old friends. Maybe it is best that you don't begin communicating again with old girlfriends. Maybe you said everything you had to say to these people, which is why they are old friends and old girlfriends in the first place.


Unless you feel a compelling need to tell them what you had for breakfast.


The Associated Press reports that Craig Kinsley, a professor of neuroscience at the University of Richmond, says shallow electronic communications are like cotton candy. He says humans crave contact and human interaction, but the Internet kind of interaction is without substance. It's somewhat banal.


And so it is, according to a variety of news reports, that Facebook fatigue is beginning to set in. People are tiring of spending hours each day describing — and reading about — the minute details of breakfast. I certainly have tired of it.


Which brings us back to my father. He hasn't wasted a moment on chatty online communications. He still lives in the real world. He still enjoys looking people up in the White Pages. He still enjoys his newspapers. He reads three or four real books every week.


(Note to people under 25: A book is a compact device in which words are printed on paper. One must read the words and transform them into pictures in one's head.)


And when he wants to communicate something, he approaches other human beings, usually my mother, and uses his voice to convey thoughts. Sometimes he uses facial expressions to emphasize various points.


I think he's on to something. That's why I'm spending less time in the electronic world and more time reading real newspapers and books and talking to real people.


As I said, I think I'm turning into my father. Thank goodness.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2009, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles