Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Every Monday Matters: Turn off your TV

By Matthew Emerzian and Kelly Bozza


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) 99 percent of all homes have at least one TV ? 45 percent have three or more.

56 percent of all 8- to 16-year-olds have a TV in their bedroom.

A person watches TV an average of 40 days per year.

Children spend 1,023 hours a year watching TV, compared to 900 hours in school.

200,000 violent acts, including 16,000 murders, will be seen on TV by children before their 18th birthday.

Roughly 70 percent of all TV shows include sexual content, with an average of five sexual scenes per hour.

On average, 38.5 minutes per week of meaningful conversation happens between a parent and his or her child.


TAKE ACTION TODAY

1. Turn off your TV today. Tape a "No TV" sign to all TV screens so that you don't turn it on out of habit.

2. Designate certain TV-free times throughout the week to reduce viewing hours.

3. Remove TVs from bedrooms, the kitchen, etc.

4. Make a list of activities to do besides watching TV ? activities like reading, biking, swimming, walking, gardening, or socializing with friends. Then start doing them.

5. Avoid using TV as a reward ? this only increases its power.

6. Be more selective about programming and choose history, travel, cooking, home repair/design, and other educational themes.

70 percent of people say that no matter how hard they try, they never seem to have enough time to do everything they need to do. Are you part of that 70 percent? If you gave up TV for just one day a week, you could exercise the recommended weekly amount necessary for healthy living, read over 20 books a year, or spend more time with your loved ones. Instead of watching reruns of "Friends," go make some.


YOU MATTER

"I am a TV addict," admitted Derek Lamb of Phoenix, Ariz. "I honestly watch over four hours a day. It is one of my favorite things to do."

Four hours a day. To put this in perspective, Derek spends 60 full days a year watching TV. In other words, 16 percent of his life is spent not exercising, not spending quality time with friends or family, not reading, not sleeping, not enjoying a habit, not working ... we could go on.

"My favorite shows are 'American Idol' and any sports that are on. I even watch the same shows twice in the same day. For example, I will watch ESPN Sports Center twice in a row and it is the exact same program," shared Derek. "My favorite time of the day is getting in bed at night and turning my TV on. I watch it until I fall asleep."

Sometimes it takes something big to happen for us to change our ways. Even when we know that something we might be doing is not good for us, we don't want to change until we absolutely have to. Fortunately, Derek had that little emergency happen recently, and it has had a pretty large impact on his life. His TV in his bedroom broke. That's right. In the middle of watching his favorite show, the TV just went black.

"I couldn't believe it," said Derek. "I know it sounds terrible to admit, but I didn't know what to do. I actually tried to fix it myself, thinking that I was a TV repair person or something."

The good news is that Derek had no idea how to fix it and his 3-year-old plasma TV is now just a wall decoration.

"It has seriously been tragic. I can't afford to get it fixed right now, so I am without my TV at night and it is killing me," said Derek. "I honestly don't know what to do with all the time. It's kind of sad."

Over the past two weeks, Derek has had to make some changes in his life, but, in our opinion, they are for the better. With people's busy schedules today and the increase in stress and anxiety disorders in our culture, four hours a day can do wonders. Imagine ... what could you do with a 28 hour day? Would it give you a little more time to get places on time? Could you start taking care of things that you "just don't have time" to do?

"My life is actually becoming healthier," said Derek. "I now go to sleep earlier; my girlfriend is much happier because I don't ignore while I am watching the Suns play hoops; I started reading when I get in bed; and I can honestly say that I am starting to not miss my TV at all. But it hasn't been easy."

We know that we have kind of dramatized the breaking of his TV, but there is a lot to learn from Derek's story.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



Go exercise
Write a letter to a soldier
Thank a firefighter
Have fun with an elderly person
Traffic is overrated
Show your smile
Donate books
What matters most
Support Neighborhood Watch

© 2009, The Modesto Bee Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles