Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Every Monday Matters: Go excercise

By Matthew Emerzian and Kelly Bozza


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) More than 50 percent of adults do not get enough exercise, and 24 percent are not physically active at all.

More than 18 percent of children and 66 percent of adults are overweight, with 32.9 percent being obese.

1 death occurs every 36 seconds from heart disease and strokes.

1 in 3 American adults has high blood pressure.

Over 100 million adults have above normal or high cholesterol levels.

Roughly 20 million people have depressive disorders.

TAKE ACTION TODAY

1. Set a goal for yourself. Think about what types of benefits you want to achieve. Weight loss? Increased muscle mass? Improved general health?

2. Figure out what type of exercise you like most and best suits your desired goal.

3. Create a plan. Start with 3 days a week, 30 minutes per day. Try to build up to 4 or 5 days a week, 45 minutes per day.

4. Drink plenty of water before, during, and after exercising.

5. Don't buy into excuses like "I don't have enough time" or "I can't afford a gym membership."

6. Incorporate exercise into your workday by taking the stairs, walking during your lunch break, and stretching while at your desk.

7. Always consult a physician or exercise specialist for safety and guidance.

Do you really want to have heart disease, high blood pressure, a stroke, lung disease, diabetes, high cholesterol, osteoporosis, depression, arthritis, or unwanted pounds? If not, start incorporating regular physical activity into your day. By doing so, you'll increase your overall health, well-being, and quality of life. Physical activity does not need to be painful in order to be beneficial, so put this newspaper down and go get some.


YOU MATTER

Spring is in the air - the snows are melting, the air is getting warmer, and the flowers are starting to bloom. When asked, most Americans would say that this is the good news. But spring also means that it is time to shed the winter coat ... and that doesn't only mean the item of clothing. For more than half of Americans, that's the bad news. But it is time for this to change "before it's too late," according to Dan Milhurst of Denver, Colo.

"I just turned 40 this past winter, and I had this sort of bingo moment," said Dan. "I realized that every year it is only going to get tougher to stay healthy and that, if I let it go now, I may never get it back. I guess this is one of the reasons that everyone says the 40th birthday is the 'biggie'."

Statistics show that Dan couldn't be more correct. Unfortunately, as people get older, their metabolisms slow down, their bodies don't recover from exercise as quickly, and their joints begin to stiffen. This means that, for most people, exercise gets to be more challenging, diet and portion control become more important, and people become more sedentary.

"One thing that I never enjoyed was running. Even when I was younger, I really didn't like it," explained Dan. "So I decided to challenge myself on my 40th birthday, and I have convinced a couple co-workers to join me."

Dan convinced his co-workers to sign up for a half marathon and they started training immediately.

"I was surprised by how hard it was at first. My knees were killing me, my lungs were burning, and I honestly believed I could never pull off a half marathon," shared Dan. "But after the first two weeks, it started to change. I felt the difference that quickly."

From six miles a week for the first two weeks, they jumped to 12 miles a week. Today, eight weeks into training, they are running 24-30 miles a week and Dan is about 20 pounds lighter.

"I feel better than I felt when I was 30. It has affected me emotionally, physically, spiritually, and so many other ways. I have also developed amazing friendships with my running mates. It has been a great bonding experience for us, which has spilled into our work day as well."

To add a little extra motivation, Dan and his co-workers have made their challenge a fundraising effort as well. They are raising money for child leukemia.

"With our fundraising, we now realize that not only are we helping ourselves by getting healthier, we are helping other people as well," said Dan. "It's added a great dimension to all of this. We are now more motivated and excited than ever. I really think this will become an annual event for us. I can't imagine how rewarding it is going to be when we cross that finish line."

Dan, just writing about this makes us want to stop typing and start exercising. Thanks for sharing your story - you are a motivation and an inspiration. You matter.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



Write a letter to a soldier
Thank a firefighter
Have fun with an elderly person
Traffic is overrated
Show your smile
Donate books
What matters most
Support Neighborhood Watch

© 2009, The Modesto Bee Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles