Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Every Monday Matters: Respect the disabled

By Matthew Emerzian and Kelly Bozza


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) 54 million or more people aged 5 and older have a non-institutionalizing disability.

25 million disabled are of an employable age.

78 percent want to be employed, but only 33 percent have a job.

Disabilities are more often caused by accidents, illnesses, or late-emerging effects of genetics than by congenital disorders.

Not all severe disabilities can be detected by the human eye.

More than 15 percent of the cars parked in a handicapped parking space are parked illegally.

TAKE ACTION TODAY

Don't park in a handicapped parking space or use handicapped plates or placards illegally. Designated parking for the handicapped is a necessity for them, not an opportunity for you to save yourself a few steps.

Don't use handicapped bathroom stalls unless you're handicapped. A handicapped person's need to use the restroom may be just as urgent as yours, and it often takes them longer to prepare to use the facilities.

Drive cautiously and courteously. When you see a handicapped license plate, slow down and show consideration rather than tailgating or honking.

Help people who need assistance by opening a door, rolling a wheelchair up or down an incline, carrying shopping bags, or offering an arm in challenging weather conditions or on uneven walkways.

The majority of people with disabilities want to be totally integrated into all aspects of society. With more awareness, respect, and helpfulness, you can make someone's life a little bit easier. People don't plan on getting disabilities, but it happens every day. One day, that disabled person may even be you.

YOU MATTER

"I always considered myself to be someone who respects everybody and is always looking out for other people," said Mark Garrison, of Lancaster, Ohio. "It is kind of the way our whole community is, so I guess I was just raised that way. It's that small town mentality."

Hearing about people like Mark is music to the ears. People who care. People who believe in community and the idea that we are all in this together. But sometimes life can bring little reminders that not only show us how we are doing things right, but also how remind us of how we could do it just a tad bit better. And, in the end, that's a good thing.

"I share this experience with you partially out of embarrassment, but also to show that there are so many little ways that we can make a difference ... or not," shared Mark. "One of my pet peeves is when I see non-handicapped people park in handicapped parking spots. It really upsets me."

Well, here is where life brings Mark one of those little reminders ...

Recently, Mark walked into a public restroom that was pretty crowded and he was in a rush. With all the regular stalls taken, Mark noticed that the handicapped stall was available. Because of the type of person he is, coupled with his aforementioned pet peeve, Mark was in conflict. He knew he shouldn't use it, but he decided to anyways.

"I think I stood there for a few seconds before making the decision. It was almost as though I had to look around first to see if the coast was clear," admitted Mark.

As fate would have it, as soon as Mark locked the latch, a disabled man came into the restroom in a wheelchair ... and he had to "go" (for lack of a better way of putting it). With Mark occupying the handicapped stall, there was really nothing the man could do but wait. And wait ... until Mark finally opened the door.

"I couldn't believe my eyes when I opened the door," said Mark. "It was like I had been caught."

Not to take the story to a strange place, but now there was an emergency at hand because this poor gentleman didn't have a second to spare. He hurriedly rolled himself into the stall and slammed the door, while Mark stood there feeling awful about what he had done.

"It was honestly one of those moments I will never forget," said Mark. "I felt so bad that, even though I was already running late, I waited outside the bathroom until the man came out. I just had to apologize to him."

When the gentleman came out of the bathroom, Mark was there to let him know how bad he felt. The good news for both of them is that the man made it just in time and everything was OK. But Mark walked away with one of the little reminders that life can give us.

"I might as well have parked my car in a disabled parking spot," said Mark. "I will never do it again and hope that people can learn from my experience."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



Turn off your TV
Go exercise
Write a letter to a soldier
Thank a firefighter
Have fun with an elderly person
Traffic is overrated
Show your smile
Donate books
What matters most
Support Neighborhood Watch

© 2009, The Modesto Bee Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles