Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 17, 2009 / 23 Nissan 5769

Windows 7, in Dolby Stereo

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Of course, the 64-bit version of Microsoft Corp.'s Windows 7 Beta software, a copy of which landed on my desk last week, isn't really "Dolby Stereo," for which usage I apologize to Dolby Laboratories even as I press the analogy. What a 64-bit version of an operating system is, however, is the full-force version that'll run on a 64-bit Intel Corp. i7 Core Duo processor, the latest chip from the powerhouse firm.


I'm revisiting 64-bit operating systems for PCs because of reaction to last week's salvo at the 64-bit version of Microsoft Vista Ultimate, which I still believe should die the death, and quickly. Some readers and online comment-writers blasted your columnist for having put on his "cranky pants" that morning. Others said they had nothing but bliss with their 64-bit Vista installations. Several said I was a fool for putting — gasp — the Beta version of Safari 4 on a Windows computer to begin with, even if Safari 4 is available for Windows users (www.apple.com/safari).


Some answers: This column is primarily — though not exclusively — devoted to critiquing computer hardware and software, so crankiness helps. But again, it's 2009, kids, not 1989. We're more than a quarter-century into the personal computing revolution; some might claim we're about 30 years on. Regardless, I believe we, as users, are at a point where things should simply work, especially if they are made by companies which have a market capitalization of about $171 billion, as of April 8, said company being Microsoft.


As to the Beta argument, dissenters may have a point, but consider: Safari 4 plays nicely in the digital sandbox with other versions of Microsoft Windows, and with Win7 in both 32-bit and 64-bit incarnations. Why not with Vista?


Let me interject a simple manifesto here: If something in technology costs more than $10, maybe $20 if you want to be generous and/or a spendthrift, it should darned well work, and work well. If not, it should be fixed, and if not fixable, you should get your money back — and maybe an apology.


Remember, friends, I wasn't reviewing a $300 bargain-basement PC found in your local big box store. The HP model tested is being touted at $1,500 dollars apiece, and that's a chunk of change for just about any of us. Nor is Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate a low-cost product: I've seen mail order ads for it at $199 a copy, the price single-user mortals pay, and one presumably reduced in cost for PC manufacturers. Regardless: at these prices, again, things should work.


Now back to Win7: in the 64-bit realm, it does work, and quite nicely. Safari 4 is running without a hitch, and so is OpenOffice.org's version 3 office suite. To be fair, the 64-bit Beta version of Microsoft's Internet Explorer 8 is also running well and behaving itself. My other "test" application, the E-Sword Bible reading program (www.e-sword.net), also performed well. And I believe this supports my thesis: well-written software, from creators large (Apple), or small (e-Sword's Rick Meyers), or collective (OpenOffice.org), should work with a well-crafted operating system. It's not a stretch, therefore, to suggest that Windows 7 is a well-crafted OS, and that Vista just isn't.


As they might say in Dallas, that's not just my opinion, neither: on April 2, the Texas state legislature gave provisional approval to a budget rider forbidding state agencies to upgrade systems to any version of Vista without said legislature's written approval, a development reported by Eric Lai of Computerworld, a leading trade newspaper. Mr. Lai also reports that several dozen Texas agencies have already spent about $6.1 million on Vista upgrades already, so how much of an


imposition this is remains to be seen.


One other reader complaint was that in comparing Vista with, say, Apple Inc.'s Mac OS X Leopard, I'm unfairly positioning Leopard, designed to work only on hardware built by Apple, with Windows Vista, which has to support unknown numbers of PC configurations and makers. Perhaps so, but again, look at your calendar: by 2009, such issues should, well, be far less of an issue. Besides, Win7 is on the way, rendering Vista, one hopes, moot.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles