Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 8, 2009 / 14 Nisan 5769

Vista. Must. Die. Soon.

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There's no doubt remaining in my mind: Microsoft Windows Vista, in any flavor, must "die," must go away, must cease to exist, and the sooner, the better.


How else to explain the arrival of a $1,495.99 Hewlett Packard desktop computer which was essentially "dead" on arrival, or at least severely crippled? The brand-spanking-new HP Pavilion Elite m9600t fired up quite nicely but choked on the latest Beta of Apple's Safari 4 Web browser, setting off a chain of unstoppable hiccups. I could only resolve these by slapping on a copy of the Windows 7 Beta software, which is a 32-bit version now running on a new Intel Core i7 920 processor, one of the top models out now, and capable of running 64-bit software.


Problem is, however, that the 64-bit Windows Vista Ultimate was a dog that wouldn't hunt, as they say down South.


In a few months, if all goes well, Microsoft will rev up the marketing machine and trot out Windows 7 as the new-new thing to have. Perhaps they'll select Lady GaGa as the spokeswoman, or have Jerry Seinfeld come up with a cute commercial, churros optional.


But something needs to be done, and soon, as I said. Windows Vista is enough to make the most hardened info-hound unplug from the "information superhighway," build a shack over on Walden pond, and wait for the first robin of spring. Or a vulture - a carrion would be preferable to Vista.


Now to the Pavilion Elite desktop computer, a "tower" model with extra bays for media drives and the like. There's a Blu-Ray disc player and DVD/CD burner with HP's "Light Scribe" technology, allowing you to "burn" a disc label on compatible media. The expansion bay is for internal device installation, I'm guessing; you can also add HP's "pocket" media drive and more substantial media drive hard discs in separate locations. All this should provide a fair amount of data storage and/or backup, especially since there's an "HP Easy Backup" button on the front of the computer. Presumably, that function went away when I scrubbed Vista. It's still not worth the gamble.


And that, dear reader, is the paradox presented with HP's new desktop tower. It's certainly a seemingly powerful machine, and even at just under $1,500, a good enough value for someone who has tasks that require its power, which includes a 750 Ggiabyte hard drive and 6 Gbytes of RAM. However, because the 64-bit Windows Vista software was buggy and unreliable - out of the box, brand-new, I was presented with a "Windows didn't shut down correctly" screen asking if I wanted to boot in "safe mode" - much of the functionality advertised with the computer wasn't there.


This might be an anomaly, and I suppose that if I wanted to invest several hours with tech support, or in re-installing the "original" operating system, etc., from the internal hard drive's backup partition, I might have fared better. But, why should I have to do this? Why should anyone?


With a bit of effort, I'm fairly sure I could install a Linux configuration that would give me access to most of the functionality HP's offering here under Vista, and for little or no cost. Let 12 months pass, maybe only six, and perhaps almost all the functionality would be available. I could also, probably, "hack" this machine and/or a copy of Apple's Macintosh OS X, to take full advantage of the computing power in the Pavilion Elite m9600t. (Apple won't like me saying that, but how-to information on accomplishing such "hacks" can be easily found on the Internet.)


This doesn't augur well for Microsoft, which I believe will face a substantial challenge with Win7, an operating system which, I must say, impresses me greatly. It's gotta be flawless, it'll have to work in a wide variety of hardware configurations, and it can't offer any surprises, hiccup-wise.


If I'm going to spend $1,500 (not including monitor) for a computer such as this, I won't be too happy if I end up pitching it out the window.


You can learn more about the Pavilion Elite m9600t at http://tinyurl.com/dngvmo

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles