Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 8, 2009 / 14 Nisan 5769

No more phoning it in

By Malcolm Fleschner


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Just 25 years ago, if someone had told me that by the year 2009 most Americans would be carrying around small, wireless telephones that could be used nearly anywhere to make calls, send text messages and take and transmit photos and videos, I'm pretty sure I would have been skeptical. "How do you know?" I would have wondered, suspiciously. "What are you, a visitor from the future? And if so, who cares about micro-telephones that take pictures - where's your time machine?"


But the fact remains that, in terms of telephone technology, we've come a long way from the era, not too long ago, when "roaming capability" meant having a phone cord that could stretch all the way into the bathroom.


One of the big differences back then was that consumers didn't enjoy a range of service options. When ordering a new phone, the provider alternatives you faced were, essentially, "Do you want to go with the phone company, or do you not want to have any phone service?" And you didn't complain because the phone company was a mysterious, powerful organization that no one dared cross, much like the mob, except that not even the Mafia had access to those cool phones with a rotary dial right in the receiver that a phone company technician could make work even when clipped onto, say, a toaster.


Then in the early 80s, perhaps fearing competition from another massive, unresponsive, unaccountable bureaucracy, the federal government broke up the phone company. This ushered in the era of long distance wars, in which every other television commercial you saw featured an actor like Candace Bergin or Cliff Robertson expressing their expert celebrity opinion that consumers should avoid making a horrible mistake and choose whichever long distance company happened to be paying Candace Bergin or Cliff Robertson.


This was, of course, back when receiving a long distance phone call was actually a big deal. Why, even the term itself inspired great reverence. After answering the phone, a mother might shush her rambunctious brood by hissing, "I'm talking to your Aunt Agnes long distance," employing the same dramatic emphasis one might use to say, "I'm talking to the kidnappers about your father's ransom."


Today we have not only moved beyond the concept of the long distance phone call, but many consumers are abandoning traditional home phone service altogether. One increasingly popular alternative is the free Internet-based service Skype, which involves getting used to talking into a computer instead of a standard telephone. But most Skype users report adapting quickly, crediting the practice they've gotten over they years yelling at their computer screens.


The phone companies aren't just idly sitting by while this newfound competition cuts into their customer base, however. I discovered this fact recently when I tried to cancel the account with my home phone service company, which I will not explicitly identify because I have a policy of never publicly criticizing a company with a name that consists of the first three letters in the word "attorney."


Anyway, I repeatedly tried calling the customer service line to cancel, but I kept getting stuck on hold. Typically in such situations I would assume, based on my past dating experience, that the other party was just blowing me off and wanted nothing further to do with me. And I'd get the hint, at least once the restraining order was delivered. But in this case I knew that my provider couldn't be trying to ditch me because a recorded voice kept coming on the line to explain that my call was important to them. "Darn this unusually high call volume that seems to strike every time I call!" I remember thinking.


Eventually I did thwart their ingenious plan to keep by business by never taking my call, but only after I gave up on getting through and instead soliciting help from a Voodoo priestess friend.


And as it turns out, they were telling the truth that my call was important to them. I know this because, since canceling my account, company representatives have become incredibly communicative, calling practically every week to plead for me to sign up again. And much as I'm flattered by the attention, it's sort of pitiful. After all, this is the same company that not too long ago had the arrogance to tell people trying to order new service, "We'll have a technician out there between the hours of 9:00 am Thursday and whenever the comet Kahoutek returns. Will someone be at home?"


And now, here they are, in full grovel mode, begging me to take them back. Frankly, I feel a little bit guilty about abandoning them. So guilty, in fact, that very soon I'm going to check to see if the representative who called yesterday is still waiting for me on hold.

JWR contributor Malcolm Fleschner is a humor columnist for The DC Examiner. Let him know what you think by clicking here.


Previously:

02/26/09: Tuning in to the English Channel
02/19/09: 25 AND COUNTING
02/13/09: A new life, dead ahead
01/29/09: NOW STARRING ... EVERYBODY!
01/15/09: You know the type
01/08/09: Just in time, here comes 2009
11/20/08: Hotels go for the green
11/06/08: Something does not compute
10/30/08: Early adopters tech their chances
10/21/08: Cyberspace invaders
10/21/08: Keeping up disappearances
09/17/08: Victims of math hysteria
08/07/08: My newfound sense of self (promotion)
06/24/08: Getting the brand back together
05/29/08: Phrased and confused
05/13/08: Take this job and love it
04/17/08: News you can (re)use
04/02/08: Commercial (over)load
02/20/08: An overdose of reality
02/14/08: A developing situation
01/30/08: I can tech it or leave it
01/02/08: Confessions of a coke addict
01/02/08: Our bills are due
12/13/07: Going (to lunch) once, going twice…
11/28/07: Out with the old
11/06/07: My latest pet project
11/06/07: Can't tune it out
10/23/07: Something special in the hair
09/12/07: Can I have your attention, please?
09/12/07: Houston, we have an image problem
08/21/07: In the heat of fashion
08/09/07: Let's get in the game
06/13/07: You gonna eat that?
05/08/07: That's disinter-tainment
05/02/07:You Are (not) Getting Sleepy...
04/18/07: No time like Father Time
03/15/07: Deface the Nation
03/08/07: More gifts? You shouldn't have
02/22/07: Relationships can be such a chore
12/05/06: Who's calling the shots?
11/09/06: I'm taking selling to a whole new level
10/27/06: Some skills are beyond repair
10/18/06: You can't tech it with you
10/04/06: Award to the wise
08/24/06: Phrased and Confused
08/09/06: We're Gonna Party Like it's $19.99
07/19/06: Just Singing in the Brain
05/24/06: Who says you can't go home again?
05/11/06: When nightly news stories go off script
04/26/06: Cents and sensibility: A thought for your pennies
03/16/06: The day the Muzak died
02/23/06: Checkbook diplomacy begins at home
02/15/06: Today's toys: Where learning means earning



© 2006, Malcolm Fleschner

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles