Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 27, 2009 / 3 Iyar 5769

Not the way I recall college

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | If you want to feel nostalgic, go back to college. Not your college. Any college. In the last nine months, I have taken four campus tours of major universities in an effort to find the best spot for one of my nephews.


We traveled to Stanford, Dartmouth, Tulane and Michigan. These are all excellent schools (hey, he's a smart kid), but it could have been Cheesy State or Open-To-All-U.


College, today, is a trip.


At each place, we were greeted by student guides. These kids are, and it's amazing how true this was everywhere we went, severely over-caffeinated. They put the bubble in "bubbly." One young woman at Stanford, freshly scrubbed and wearing flip-flops, walked backward quickly as she toured us and said the word "amazing" at least a thousand times.


This professor was amazing! This lab was amazing! This overseas program was amazing!


And, of course, she was right. Because college today is amazing — especially if the last time you lived in a dorm was 25 years ago. The rooms haven't gotten much bigger, but they now have cable TV, Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs in the lounges, personal microwaves allowed.


I didn't see any small chocolates on the pillows, but it wouldn't have surprised me.


By the way, in many dorms, the guys now have rooms next to the girls. That stunned me. It stunned some of the kids on the tour as well. They couldn't understand why there weren't mixed-sex roommates.

SO MUCH TO DO, SO LITTLE TIME
Then there are the facilities. Buildings that look like corporate world headquarters. Bike paths. International houses. At Tulane, we were taken to a gym/sports complex that made me want to turn in my health club membership.


Speaking of Tulane, perhaps it's the New Orleans influence, but its cafeteria had better food than my wedding.


Groups? You can join everything from Save the Rainforest to Barbershop Quartets.


Activities? Well. You wonder how any kid has time to study. There are so many "amazing" lectures, parties, exhibits, celebrations. In one small stretch at Stanford, it had a forum on Tibet, a dance marathon, the Kronos Quartet, a lecture by the executive producer of the "Batman" movies and a Rubik's Cube competition.


I'm exhausted.


When I remember foreign exchange programs, I recall London, Spain and maybe Brazil as choices. The schools today have 40, 50, 60 countries on the roster. One school told us you can pick a country, and it will find a school to partner with.


Pick a country?

GET OUT THE CHECKBOOK
Now it may be because I went to a small school in the Northeast, but we got excited with intramural basketball. A stereo was major technology. A Friday night concert was a big deal on campus. And when they got a soft-serve ice cream machine, well, we were pretty much done.


So you can understand how I went through these tours with my mouth open. Especially in the cafeterias. (By the way, these campuses all have coffee shops, everywhere you look, which may explain the overly perky guides.) And we haven't even gotten to the community public service hours, the flexible year planning (Dartmouth basically lets you tell it what semesters you want to come to school) or the stock market lab that we saw on one campus (you start with a fictional $100,000; who says academia is out of touch?).


Of course, all of this will only cost you a mere $50,000 a year in most places, maybe a drizzle less or more. But what's $200,000 for a degree when the cafeteria has make-your-own-waffles?


I had a great time on these tours. And I was sad that I wasn't starting out in college these days and also glad. I couldn't handle the challenge of finding time for classes.


By the way, my nephew chose Michigan. It's a great school. And he's not really into a cappella.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2009, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles