Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 2, 2008 / 14 Adar I 5768

Commercial (over)load

By Malcolm Fleschner


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It should come as no surprise that my latest idea for getting rich with barely any effort came to me while watching late night television. After all, late night programming is a treasure trove of information, whether from commercials for revolutionary home care products and innovative personal fitness solutions, or through all those infomercials featuring audiences who can barely contain their bladders in excitement over, say, a new battery-operated back scratcher.


Frankly, I feel sorry for people who, because they have 9-5 jobs or do not enjoy the pleasure of insomnia, are denied the fun of watching the commercials that only air on basic cable during the wee hours. While most suckers are wasting the night away in bed, resting up for another grinding day at the office, we late night viewers are busy learning how to blast our abs, grill the fat-free George Foreman way and "enhance" our masculinity, all while enjoying "hot chat" with other area singles and winning thousand-dollar settlements in fraudulent personal injury lawsuits.


All of today's over-the-top, low budget late night ads owe a debt of gratitude to the granddaddy of the genre, the Ginsu knife. Ads for Ginsu knives aired constantly during my youth, imparting important cultural lessons I wasn't getting in school. For example, from the ad's signature line I learned that, "In Japan, the hand can be used like a knife [video depiction of man karate chopping through two blocks of wood]. But it can't cut a tomato [video of hand karate chopping into a tomato]." At the time, everything I knew of Japanese culture came from Sunday afternoon creature double feature movies, so I was never entirely clear whether the ads were suggesting that Japanese people actually cut wood with a knife.


"It's no wonder their cities are helpless against the near-constant onslaught from men in crappy-looking monster suits," I recall thinking.


Still, as the commercials clearly showed, Ginsu knives were perfect for anyone whose unusual culinary demands required a kitchen knife that could cut through nails, tin cans, radiator hoses and, in rare circumstance, actual food. Also anyone who appreciated the whiff of exoticism that came with purchasing a vaguely Far Eastern-sounding product that was actually manufactured in Fremont, Ohio.


But, to borrow a line from the Ginsu knife ads, that was not all. We 1970s-era TV aficionados also regularly had our viewing interrupted by ads for big time recording artists I'd never heard of like Roger Whittaker, Zamfir ("Master of the pan flute") and Slim Whitman. As an ignorant kid, I assumed that these were just a bunch of has-been performers who could only afford to advertise their records during little-watched afternoon television shows. Once I grew a little older I realized the truth, which was that they were has-beens who could also afford to advertise during little-watched nighttime shows.


I admit that I always liked Zamfir because his name made him sound like some sort of crazed, pan flute-playing villain from a James Bond movie:


Bond: "You're mad, Zamfir! You'll never get away with this!."


Zamfir: "Oh, I think I will, Mr. Bond. With my giant orbiting speakers in place, the entire world will soon be hypnotized into submission by the strains of my haunting pan flute melodies. BWA-HA-HA-HA!!!!!"


My favorite ads, however, were for Slim Whitman's records, because they included the singular boast that Whitman had, "sold more records than Elvis and the Beatles combined." Eventually someone pointed out to me that this seemingly dubious claim was technically true since Elvis and the Beatles had never combined to put out an album. Either that or Slim was only counting records that the artists in question had sold personally, as he did regularly out of the back of his beat-up 1972 Chevy van.


But to get back to the topic of this column, which is my new get rich quick scheme, it recently occurred to me that many of the late-night ads these days aren't for actual products, but instead promote seminars viewers can attend to achieve a variety of laudable life goals, such as figuring out how to hear Donald Trump talk for an hour.


Of course, the people behind these ads are following a fundamental tenet of business success, which is that while you'll never get rich by attending phony-baloney self-improvement seminars, you can get rich by duping others into attending phony-baloney self-improvement seminars. I simply plan to take the idea one step further - which is why my fellow later-nighters will soon be seeing commercials for my ground-breaking self-improvement seminars on how to put together self-improvement seminars.


I figure that with this audience my idea can't miss, especially when viewers learn that if they act now, I'll throw in a free cordless back scratcher.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Malcolm Fleschner is a humor columnist for The DC Examiner. Let him know what you think by clicking here.


Previously:

02/20/08: An overdose of reality
02/14/08: A developing situation
01/30/08: I can tech it or leave it
01/02/08: Confessions of a coke addict
01/02/08: Our bills are due
12/13/07: Going (to lunch) once, going twice…
11/28/07: Out with the old
11/06/07: My latest pet project
11/06/07: Can't tune it out
10/23/07: Something special in the hair
09/12/07: Can I have your attention, please?
09/12/07: Houston, we have an image problem
08/21/07: In the heat of fashion
08/09/07: Let's get in the game
06/13/07: You gonna eat that?
05/08/07: That's disinter-tainment
05/02/07:You Are (not) Getting Sleepy...
04/18/07: No time like Father Time
03/15/07: Deface the Nation
03/08/07: More gifts? You shouldn't have
02/22/07: Relationships can be such a chore
12/05/06: Who's calling the shots?
11/09/06: I'm taking selling to a whole new level
10/27/06: Some skills are beyond repair
10/18/06: You can't tech it with you
10/04/06: Award to the wise
08/24/06: Phrased and Confused
08/09/06: We're Gonna Party Like it's $19.99
07/19/06: Just Singing in the Brain
05/24/06: Who says you can't go home again?
05/11/06: When nightly news stories go off script
04/26/06: Cents and sensibility: A thought for your pennies
03/16/06: The day the Muzak died
02/23/06: Checkbook diplomacy begins at home
02/15/06: Today's toys: Where learning means earning



© 2006, Malcolm Fleschner

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles