Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 11, 2007 / 23 Nissan, 5767

Giuliani: Take Me or Leave Me

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | CHARLESTON, S.C. — Rudy Giuliani says that the standard for judging his troubled personal life should be how it affected or did not affect the job he did as mayor of New York.


"We all have personal lives, we all have things that go right and wrong in our personal lives," he told me. "The real question is: How does it affect how you can perform?"


"Does the fact that I may have had some problems in my personal life mean that I don't perform my job or I can't perform it well?" he continued. "Or does it mean that, despite them, I still was able to take a city that was the crime capital of America and turn it into the safest large city in America."


Giuliani said he removed 660,000 people from the welfare roles in New York, turned a budget deficit into a surplus and "had to deal with the worst crisis in the history of our city upfront and directly," a reference to the terrorist attack of Sept. 11, 2001.


"So I would ask people to look at that," Giuliani said in the half-hour interview. "They can know everything about me. They will find out everything about me. But then, how has it (i.e., personal problems) affected me?"


Giuliani's argument is unlikely to satisfy some of his critics among social and religious conservatives, who would suggest that personal behavior should not be judged solely on whether it affects your job performance.


Christian conservatives, who play an important role in Republican politics in South Carolina, might argue that behavior also should be judged as to whether it is moral or immoral.


In 2000, when Giuliani was mayor of New York, news of his extramarital relationship with Judith Nathan became public. Giuliani announced at a press conference that he was separating from his wife, something she did not know beforehand. Giuliani filed for divorce and married Nathan in 2003.


I reminded Giuliani that South Carolina was the site of a vicious Republican primary campaign in 2000, in which John McCain was the subject of venomous attacks by supporters of George W. Bush.


Has it crossed your mind that this may be an extremely rough primary in 2008? I asked him.


"It has, and it will be," Giuliani replied. But he also said he did not think the attacks would come directly from other Republican presidential candidates.


"I think more of this comes from the ... blogging atmosphere, in the instant news atmosphere and the minute-analysis atmosphere," he said.


Giuliani's positions on abortion, gun control and gay rights are very moderate by Republican standards, and some political analysts have said he cannot be nominated because of them. But Giuliani said in the interview he would not change. "I am not going to change who I am," he said. "I think that would be a terrible mistake. Better off you vote against me than I change who I am. Because then I couldn't be an effective president."


Giuliani also said being attacked was nothing new to him.


"This went on every day when I was mayor of New York," he said. "So you get used to it. And you learn where you put it."


Giuliani, who leads virtually all polls for the Republican nomination by large margins, admitted that he has made some mistakes.


"You have a balance of things you did right and things you did wrong, and the mistakes you made are very public ones," he said. "The question is: What's the balance? Is the balance a balance of success or not?"


I asked Giuliani if he was asking Republican voters to pass up candidates who were more "ideologically pure" and vote for him because of his record as mayor.


"Part of my message is you might find on some issues there are more ideologically pure candidates — whatever that means — but I bet you are not going to find one on fiscal conservatism that's stronger than I am," he said.


"I don't think you will find a candidate who has had more experience in dealing with terrorism. And I bet you will not find a candidate that has had more executive experience than I have had. In fact, I don't think you will find one that has had as much."


He also said that Republican voters should look at all of his positions on the issues.


"If nine out of 10 times you agree with me," he said, "then maybe you should consider me as your candidate, unless the one reason you disagree with me is so important to you that you can't. And I respect that."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2007, Creators Syndicate