Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 6, 2007 / 18 Nissan, 5767

Angry Howard Dean is still angry

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When Howard Dean began running for president, some in his campaign imagined he would play the role of Josiah Bartlet, the sometimes ornery but brilliant and lovable president on "The West Wing."


In fact, Dean's campaign style was more like that of another fictional character: Howard Beale, the angry prophet from the film "Network," who was mad as hell and not going to take it anymore.


Dean's anger was directed not only at George W. Bush, but also at those Democrats who were backing Bush's Iraq war, tax cuts and No Child Left Behind legislation.


"I'm Howard Dean, and I'm here to represent the Democratic wing of the Democratic Party!" Dean thundered in February 2003, as he began his race for the Democratic nomination.


He still represents that wing, but now as chairman of the party. And he has not really changed his tone much.


We talked for an hour recently in his office at Democratic National Committee headquarters. Here is some of that conversation:


"We used to be the moral leader of the world before George Bush went into Iraq," Dean said. "And we need to return to that position, and we will with a Democratic president in '08.


"I've been to Europe a couple of times, I am going again in April to do something with the Italian parliament, and one of the things I hope to do, in addition to winning the presidential election, is to help prepare the next administration's way in terms of repairing the extraordinary damage that the Republicans have done."


Dean said that the problem was not just the American invasion of Iraq — "that we could have overcome," he said — but "the contemptuousness with which the Republicans treated everybody" after the invasion.


Dean believes that the White House has tried to punish the countries that did not back the U.S. invasion. "When your foreign policy is based on retribution and vindictiveness, it is not a serious foreign policy," Dean said.


Dean said the White House has tried to punish Mexico for that reason and that it has been "a terrible mistake."


We talked about immigration, and I asked if there was a unified Democratic position on it.


"I think there is a much more unified Democratic position than there is a Republican position," he said. "The Republicans have decided they don't want to do anything about immigration because they are scared.


"For the short-term purpose of winning in '06, they ginned up a big anti-immigrant fervor which helped them in a few races, turned Hispanics against them by 12 more points, and now they don't know how to get out of it."


Dean said that Sen. Edward M. Kennedy, D-Mass., who co-sponsored a bipartisan immigration reform bill last year, "is having a hard time putting together a bipartisan bill because the Republicans are running away as fast as they can. And we can't pass a bill that isn't bipartisan. Frankly, I think that has a lot to do with presidential politics and a complete lack of presidential leadership."


Dean also said: "The best kind of immigration reform is a much better working relationship with Mexico. We will never solve immigration problems in this country without improving the Mexican economy dramatically."


On what to do about getting U.S. troops out of Iraq, Dean said that Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid and House Speaker Nancy Pelosi are doing the right thing by "being measured."


"I think by the end of '08 is a good deadline," Dean said. "I think Reid and Pelosi are taking a very smart, thoughtful, careful tack, slowly moving us in the right direction without doing it so fast that anybody could say we lack responsibility or didn't understand the gravity of the situation. I think Harry and Nancy are really doing a good job.


"And I don't have to say that, as you know," he added with a laugh. "I mean, neither one of them wanted me in this job."


Once in the job, Dean angered powerful figures in the party by spending millions of dollars on building up Democratic Party staffing in all 50 states, instead of siphoning more of those dollars to Democratic candidates in 2006.


"This is a historic opportunity, and we can't squander it," Illinois Rep. Rahm Emanuel, who was chairman of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee, said in May 2006 after an angry meeting with Dean.


Several stories followed, quoting unidentified Democratic sources saying Dean was throwing away the party's chance for victory in November. And it looked like some wanted to cast Dean as the scapegoat if the Democrats lost.


I got the impression you were being set up to take the fall, I said to Dean last week.


"Oh, it's probably true," he said. And then he laughed again.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2007, Creators Syndicate