Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 5, 2007 / 17 Nissan, 5767

Too much money, too little joy

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Hillary Clinton's campaign has announced that the $26 million she has raked in so far for her presidential effort is "staggering."


But the only thing that staggers me is why anybody would give a dollar to these campaigns.


If the campaigns were on the level — and I mean all the campaigns, not just Hillary's — the candidates would stand up at their fund-raisers and say:


"Please give me the money that you have worked hard for so I can squander it on huge salaries for my bloated staff, TV commercials that nobody in his right mind would watch, more fund-raisers to raise even more money and private jets so I don't have to stand in security lines with doofusses like you."


You know what would really impress me? And you know what we are never going to hear? A candidate who says: "Gee, I think I have raised enough money to run for president. To be honest, I don't even know how I will spend the millions I already have. So keep your money. Give it to charity. Spend it on health care, education or the environment. In other words, spend it on the things that I pretend to care about."


This mindless amassing of tons of money simply for the purpose of amassing tons of money perfectly symbolizes the presidential campaign so far: a mechanical and joyless process.


Joy? Running for president is supposed to be about joy? Yeah, it is. Because you know what? The presidency is a terrific job. Really. With all the problems in the country and the world, with all the pressures, it is still one of the greatest jobs you can have and, more importantly, one of the greatest things you can do for your country.


So why aren't any of the candidates in either party conveying that?


People want some joy. Go out and talk to them. Sure, they want concrete improvements in their lives — but they also want to be inspired. They want to believe in somebody. They want a president who understands them. They want a president who is real and not constructed from polling reports.


They want more than a suction tube Hoovering up money. They want more than a replicant.


And they don't mind a little real joy, a little real emotion along the way.


So how come we don't get any?


Because emotion is risky. Emotion is "out of the box." Emotion is something the staff cannot control. If you are a candidate and you show some real emotion, your message-management team comes to you the next day and says, "Uh, look, we tested emotion last month at a shopping mall in Passaic, N.J., and emotion got 13 percent. 'I'm in it to win it' got 63 percent. Stick to that."


So you don't get emotion. You don't get human beings. You get drones.


And some of the major candidates are beginning to phone it in already. You can see it every day.


I can understand going through the motions when you are burnt out at the end of a long campaign. But some of the candidates seem burnt out now.


And maybe we should forgive them. You know how much time you have to spend raising the kind of money they are raising? You know how many phone calls you have to make? How many butts you have to kiss?


A lot. A real lot.


And they are tired of it. Already. You can hear it in their speeches and see it in their eyes.


Their campaigning has become robotic, dreary and devoid of true emotion.


This is not a personal complaint. Me, I am having a great time. I like the road. Summer camp for reporters, and all that. And it is not even about you. (Enough about you.)


It is about them. It is about the candidates.


One of them is going to end up with a really great job.


So how come none of them is acting like it?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2007, Creators Syndicate