Worth Considering


Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 12, 2007 / 24 Nissan, 5767

Starbucks and the Jewish future

By Andrew Silow-Carroll


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

Cafe standards


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | From: Andrew Silow-Carroll
To: Synagogue leaders everywhere
Subject: The Commoditization of the Jewish Experience


As some of you know, I have long looked to the Starbucks coffee empire as a source for ideas about reinvigorating the synagogue experience. As I once wrote in an essay (reprinted in Heavenly Coffee: The Journal of Religion and Caffeine), your typical Starbucks serves as a model and metaphor for community-building. "The physical setting is often exquisite, the seating is conducive to lingering and conversation, the music is current and tasteful, the price of admission is low, and the entire place commands you to slow down, albeit in a highly caffeinated way."


Over the past 10 years, however, I've noted an erosion in the Starbucks model. And it's not just me. Last month, Howard Schultz, the chairman of Starbucks, sent a memo to employees. In it, he complains that the chain has made a series of business decisions that have led to the "watering down of the Starbucks experience." Automatic espresso machines have replaced hands-on "baristas." "Flavor-locked packaging" fills in for aromatic roasted beans. Too-tall machines prevent customers from seeing their mochas and cappuccinos being concocted. Automation even removes the aroma -- the "most powerful nonverbal signal" in the Starbucks experience.


In short, customers are being robbed of the "romance and theater that was in play." By "stripping the store of tradition and our heritage," Schultz wrote, too many stores "no longer have the soul of the past."


Schultz is talking about coffee, but it doesn't take more than few shots of espresso to see that he is also talking about synagogue. Judaism may not be on the same growth curve as Starbucks (which went from 1,000 stores to 13,000 in a decade), but aren't we all struggling with how to hold onto our "tradition and heritage"? Can't we also say that too many Jewish institutions "no longer have the soul of the past"?


That's why I think Schultz's memo should be added to the reading list as we think about the Jewish future. We all should ask his question: "We achieved fresh roasted bagged coffee, but at what cost?" Okay, maybe that's not exactly the question for American Jewry, but you get the idea. In what ways do our own synagogues represent a watered-down version of Jewish tradition? In what ways have we shortchanged congregants who are in search of "romance and theater"?


Schultz's memo is really a five-point plan for synagogue renewal. Consider:


One: Bring back the baristas. When new people show up at your synagogues, are temple regulars and employees closed and automatic, or are they open and intimate? A people-to-people approach is the single biggest factor in attracting new members, and keeping them.


Two: Reflect the passion. Schultz complains that "some people even call our stores sterile, cookie cutter, no longer reflecting the passion our partners feel about our coffee." Does your synagogue and its decor reflect the personality of your congregation? Do decorations and signage display the soul of the membership or the mere craftsmanship of the architect?


Three: Let them see the drink being made.


People want to see the process. Rabbis and boards who make decisions behind closed doors miss an opportunity to educate and engage their congregants. Lower the barriers.


Four: Bring back the aroma. What are your "most powerful nonverbal signals"? Is it an inviting Kiddush? Is it the array of information for new congregants right by the entrance to the sanctuary? Is it the sight of young children who obviously appear comfortable in shul?


Five: Get back to the core. Schultz urges Starbucks employees to "push for innovation and do the things necessary to once again differentiate Starbucks from all others." That seems to contradict his message of tradition and heritage, but it doesn't. It means always finding fresh ways to remember who you are, and to remind others of the differences that make you, you.


Okay, I'll admit it: Growing a coffee chain and running a synagogue do not make for perfect analogies. While a synagogue should offer a variety of ways to engage Jews, a menu that's too big would certainly lead to a "dilution of the experience." Successful synagogues also demand more from their "customers" than that they merely show up, pay for a service, and walk back out the door. In successful synagogues, "customers" are found on both sides of the counter.


But Schultz could well be the keynote speaker at a synagogue renewal conference when he says, "We desperately need to look into the mirror and realize it's time to get back to the core and make the changes necessary to evoke the heritage, the tradition, and the passion that we all have for the true Starbucks experience."


Substitute "synagogue" for "Starbucks" in that sentence, and you have what sounds like — you'll pardon the cliche — a wakeup call.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Andrew Silow-Carroll is the editor in chief of the New Jersey Jewish News, where this article first appeared. To comment, please click here.

© 2007, Andrew Silow-Carroll