Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 20, 2007 / 2 Iyar, 5767

Getting More From Your iPod

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When even the competition's cheerleaders endorse you, it's a good sign: the editors of "Maximum PC" magazine, one of the more passionate of Windows PC journals, voted in favor of Apple, Inc.'s iTunes music service over Microsoft Corp.'s Zune Live service, even though they said the music quality of both firm's recordings was a tad lacking.


But for iTunes music to be truly portable, you need an Apple, Inc. iPod , which is five and one-half years old and which, as of last week, has sold 100 million units. Not bad for any consumer device, and certainly not bad in such a relatively short period of time.


How can users get more from their iPods? A couple of add-on devices from a Miami, Florida, firm, Xtreme Accessories , online at www.xtrememac.com, can help.


One of the most sensible is the Airplay Boost , a $39.95 device for the newest iPod Nano devices, which transmits audio via FM to your car stereo. Two features distinguish the Airplay Boost from similar units: an "external" antenna, which increases transmission strength and audio quality, and no power adapter: it runs on the iPod's power, though you can add an optional, sold-separately $19.95 car power adapter if desired.


The Airplay Boost has built-in software that displays setup options on the iPod's screen; installation is quick and easy. I like both the concept and the execution. A version for the larger, video iPods is available for $10 more. Either is an excellent choice.


More valuable, to me at least, is the $59.95 MicroMemo , a plug-in voice recorder for the iPod. Clip it to your iPod (my test unit was a 2 Gigabyte Nano), and you're ready to record memos, lectures or interviews.


At the "low," or default, level setting, you can supposedly get 12 hours of recording from an iPod such as the one I used; go up to a 60 Gigabyte iPod with Video and that jumps to 348 hours. Use the software to record at "high" quality and you drop down to 3 hours on the Nano and 98 hours on the larger iPod.


However you decide to record, the sound quality is very, very good. I went through a couple of interviews using the MicroMemo, and the sound was good enough, in my opinion, to qualify for use in an audio podcast , even at the "low" setting. Purists may scoff - or suggest that an optional wired microphone be attached - but I was mightily impressed with the sound quality. Working from the iPod to transcribe my notes wasn't difficult; the iPod's "jog wheel" control made incremental "rewinds" easy.


I can't recommend the MicroMemo highly enough. Oh, and you can keep the sound base attached to the iPod and switch out the microphone for headphones, if you desire; just flip a switch on the bottom of the MicroMemo unit.


ONE LAST SHOUT-OUT TO APPLE: I had an experience with a Mac last week unlike anything I've experienced in roughly a quarter-century of microcomputer use. For reasons unknown, my copy of Apple's Safari Web browser vanished from the iMac I'm using. After a mild panic - Safari is part of the Mac OS X operating system and not available as a separate download - I merely reinstalled the OS, and Safari returned, WITH my settings and Web site "bookmarks" in place. The reinstallation made a backup of the old OS, which I could easily discard once all was back to normal.


This is about as close to a "self-healing" operating system as I've seen. Would that other OSes were as forgiving.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles