Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 28, 2006 / 30 Nissan, 5766

eBay, the Soap Opera: For every auction, there's an equal and opposite re-auction

By Gene Weingarten


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I get many of my best ideas in my sleep — concepts that seem so blindingly brilliant they wake me up. Because I never have a writing implement near my bed, I shuffle into the bathroom and scrawl my idea on the mirror with a bar of soap.


It's a dandy system, except the mirror is narrow and the soap is fat, so I must abbreviate. This means that in the clear light of morning, my messages are often indecipherable, such as this one I recently soaped: "EbFb!" (Also, the sleeping brain is not always the most discriminating brain. Here, in its entirety, is a no-lose column idea I once dreamed up: "MAD!")


But the "EbFb!" idea actually turned out to be pretty good, once I finally figured out that it was not "E-flat, F-flat," an insipid tune I played on the piano for three straight days without inspiration. Eventually, I remembered: "eBay feedback!"


People who buy or sell items in the popular online marketplace get to report on their satisfaction with the sale — basically, to critique the person they dealt with. But they are allowed only a few dozen keystrokes, meaning these reports — like my soap-scrawls — mst b vry cncise n 2 th pt.


Reading eBay feedback gives you an excellent profile of America at the start of the 21st century. Most people are respectful, and the vast majority of transactions occur to mutual satisfaction. But when disagreements arise, they are often wildly overblown, accompanied by sputtering, exclamation-laden, tooth-gnashing tirades. To judge from these reports, no transaction ever falls apart because of a simple misunderstanding between well-intentioned people. When things go sour, it is apparently always because at least one party is a suppurating morsel of human filth. Often, both are.


Here's an actual eBay feedback line from the recent attempted sale of an antique: "DEADBEAT! WACK JOB! FLIM-FLAM ARTIST!"


Here's another, from the sale of a guitar amp: "You sold me trash. I was a fool for buying it but you offload TRASH!"


From the buyer of a lamp: "Item was piece of crap! Wouldn't put in my dog house!"


From the seller of doll clothes, about the buyer: "Beware! Not trustworthy! Extremely immature person!"


That prompted this response: "NICE TRY! LIAR!!! I REPORTED U!!! U NEVER SENT DRESS."


From a dissatisfied buyer of flatware: "Parcel was insured, sller wd not send me receipt, he is a donkeyhole."


Response from the flatware seller: "He is a liar and a harasser! Beware!"


Flatware buyer retort: "You lying sack of . . ."


Because each eBay user has his or her own feedback profile, which is accessible to anyone, it takes only a little research to figure out that 95 percent of all the viciously negative feedback on the site involves about 5 percent of all users — time and again, when they buy and when they sell. These are The Jerks.


The tragedy of eBay's system is that the user names are all pseudonyms. That means that, although you can identify the jerks and try to stay away from them on eBay, you can't avoid them elsewhere in life. And that's too bad, because if eBay named names, we'd not only be better jerk-forewarned, but, I'm guessing, we'd see some highly entertaining entries.


I use eBay often, but have never given or received negative feedback. That doesn't mean I've been entirely satisfied with all transactions — it's just that the system actually seems to encourage civility. That's because you know that if you flame someone — even justifiably — you are almost certain to be flamed in return.


After winning one recent auction, but at a higher price than I'd expected to pay, I strongly suspected that the seller had been shilling me — bidding against me through a second pseudonym, to jack up the price. Further feedback research showed he'd been accused of the same offense several times before. So I e-mailed him to cancel our transaction, explained why, and invited him to submit negative feedback about me if he wished. But I first previewed for him my would-be retaliatory line, which — in 70 efficiently marshaled keystrokes — established his guilt, exposed his recidivism and impugned his manhood.


That was a month ago. My feedback profile is still perfect.


See, it's the same deterrence system that worked splendidly for the Cold War. Mutually assured destruction. MAD.


Hey, wait a minute . . .

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Gene Weingarten writes the Below the Beltway humor column for The Washington Post. To comment, please click here.


Archives


© 2006 WPWG

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles