Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 12, 2006 / 14 Nissan, 5766

Choose your metaphor carefully

By Jonathan Tobin



Printer Friendly Version

Email this article



Don't let non-Exodus theme Seders overshadow the original story


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Are the four most unpopular words of the seder in North America the last four?


The concluding refrain of the Haggadah is a rousing messianic pledge "Next Year in Jerusalem!" Yet I wonder how many American Jews are actually saying, let alone singing, this messianic pledge nowadays?


According to surveys of American Jewish life, a Passover seder is the most popular act of Jewish observance in this country. That makes the seder a unique opportunity to create an educational experience for families, especially for those whose encounters with Jewish learning are at best sporadic. By asking us to recite the account of the Exodus and to take a few symbolic actions that signify our personal identification with the events of the past, the seder reinforces the hard lessons as well as the promise of Jewish history.


But how is an increasingly assimilated American Jewish population that prefers seders to be family get-togethers punctuated by a few obscure rituals going to accomplish this task?

SEEKING RELEVANCE
One answer has been to try to tap into the universal themes present in the Haggadah and create versions of the seder that highlight various causes. To that end, we now have, among a great many different varieties, "freedom" seders meant to show the identification of the civil rights struggle and other human rights issues with the Exodus or "green" seders that provide an environmentalist take on Passover.


By making the seder more "relevant" to a host of contemporary issues and concerns, the purpose appears to be to not only promote the cause that the seder theme represents, but to indirectly reintroduce Jews to the powerful message of their own traditions.


Invariably, such efforts raise the hackles of some who fear that Jewish concerns are being subordinated to other agendas, even when these agendas are entirely praiseworthy.


Some nine years ago, I engaged in a somewhat angry exchange with one reader who particularly objected to the Religious Action Center of Judaism's decision to hold a "freedom" seder centered on the struggle for freedom by the people of Chinese-occupied Tibet.


At this Washington, D.C. event, the Dalai Lama, the venerated Buddhist sage and leader of the Tibetans, reportedly got his first taste of matzah and saw the easy parallel between the ancient passage to freedom of the Jews with his own people's desperate struggle against the pharaohs in Beijing.


But to that reader, the Tibetan seder was a hijacking of a Jewish story for a non-Jewish purpose.


I disagreed. Human rights, especially when it concerns the plight of those who are victims of communist tyranny that seeks to destroy religious faith, is inherently a Jewish issue. The RAC was right to identify with this cause, which, if anything, promoted the noblest aspect of Jewish belief.


But years later, even though I still think that event and others like it are entirely admirable, I have to admit that I am more troubled by the proliferation of universalist interpretations of Passover than ever before.


Such events are popular and useful staples of the community relations world, but the question remains how much of contemporary Jewish life is more attuned to the Passover knock-offs than the original merchandise?


Though the tension between the parochially Jewish aspect of our faith and its more universalist tendencies is as old as Judaism itself, Passover is, first and foremost, a rite of Jewish freedom and not merely an empty metaphor into which any other story can be funneled at will.


Many Jews here see the struggle for freedom more easily in righteous causes, such as combating genocide in Darfur or the racism of American nativists and bigots, than in any Jewish cause. But while such advocacy is praiseworthy, it also ignores the primary threat to contemporary Jewish existence: the rise of Islamist Jew-hatred, which seeks to destroy the connection of the Jews to their land that was their ultimate reward for their struggle for freedom.


It is at Passover, when channeling the spirit of ancient Jewish history is so important, that we must resist the temptation to forget that this tale of struggle and redemption has a particular end. The passage of the children of Israel from slavery to freedom isn't just a fairy tale we tell our children. It is about the birth of Jewish identity and the connection of a people to a place and a faith.

'IN EVERY GENERATION'
It is no small irony that while so many of us are working so hard to superimpose other causes, however worthy they might be, onto our own traditions, there is a concerted attempt by most of the Arab and Islamic world to erase our history.


Despite withdrawals and peace agreements all aimed at satisfying Arab demands, the attacks on the Jewish State emanating from its enemies and their Western intellectual cheering section have increased in recent years. And the legitimacy of Zionism and the connection of the Jews to their land is their target.


Obliterating the Jewish past enables those who seek to portray Jews as "colonists" in their own country to claim that any and all forms of terrorism are acceptable means of resistance against "occupation."


Their revisionist history may be laughable, but when it is stacked up against a Jewish world that often seems more willing to push aside our own history and assert the claims of others, it is highly effective.


We are commanded by the Passover liturgy to remember "in every generation men rise against us to destroy us." But the current incarnation of evil that calls itself Hamas or Fatah or Islamic Jihad cannot succeed without severing our faith that the ancient events we speak of on Pesach are somehow tied to our modern lives.


As Bar-Ilan University's Professor Gerald Steinberg recently wrote in The Jerusalem Post, "The Passover seder is our collective opportunity to reclaim and reassert Jewish history."


The stories we retell this week are not merely attractive myths that allow us to pose as morally superior to other ancient cultures. They are the cries of countless generations of Jews who dreamed not only of universal freedom, but also of a rebirth of Jewish sovereignty in the land of Israel.


Though many of us may prefer to skip the portion of the seder that follows the festive meal and others may fall asleep before the last words are spoken, let's not forget to root our celebration in support of a real place that is no empty metaphor.


"Next Year in Jerusalem!"

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Jonathan S. Tobin is executive editor of the Philadelphia Jewish Exponent. Let him know what you think by clicking here.

Jonathan Tobin Archives




© 2005, Jonathan Tobin