Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 18, 2006 / 20 Nissan, 5766

One spring night

By Sarah Shapiro


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | One spring night — the night that's famous for its difference from all others — we were sitting around the table reciting the Hagadda and had gotten to the line that reads: "For not only one has risen up against us. In every generation, some have risen up against us to annihilate us, but the Most Holy, blessed be He, has delivered us out of their hands."


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


Was it the early 1980s, when we were living on a settlement in the Judean Desert? Along with twenty other young American couples, we'd moved out to that forsaken land at the encouragement of Ariel Sharon, who had personally attended the groundbreaking ceremonies. Not since Biblical times — when the ancient prophet Amos (after whom our yishuv was named) roamed its rocky terrain — had anyone inhabited this dry and empty expanse.


As the desert winds howled around our little metal prefab — one of ten identical boxes set down in a row upon a stony hill — we drank our four cups of wine and sang "One Kid." Had we stepped outside into the enormous black night with its million stars, our gaze would have taken in one stony hill after another, after another, as far as the eye could see, and the far-off Dead Sea glimmering in the full moon's light.


Turning the other way, we'd be facing Herodian, the mountain a few miles to the west of Maalei Amos. Up until recently, it had been a neutral feature of the desert landscape. Tonight, I was conscious of its sinister presence all through the Seder — a shadow looming in the back of my mind. A Jew had just been murdered there, a husband and father from the nearby settlement of Tekoa, and the words of the Haggada were jumping out at me from the page:


For not only one has risen up against us. In every generation, some have risen up against us to annihilate us, but the Most Holy, blessed be He, has delivered us out of their hands.


It could have been the spring of 1990 — a few weeks after the end of the Gulf War. A month and a half earlier, on Purim Day, Saddam Hussein had suddenly — out of the blue! — surrendered, and we were still in shock, rejoicing. With what exultation, how giddy we'd been, tearing down the plastic sheeting on all the windows, opening up the house, letting the warm wind into our once-sealed rooms. How the sunlight flooded our hearts with glee! Pesach cleaning had never been such a breeze!


We sat merrily reciting the Haggada around our festive table, with its crystal wine glasses and ivory tablecloth, and read:


For not only one has risen up against us. In every generation, some have risen up against us to annihilate us, but the Most Holy, blessed be He, has delivered us out of their hands.


Was it 2002, when an intifada was blazing out of control, a conflagration no government had the power to stop? We'd been scared to leave the neighborhood for weeks, months. No traveling on buses, no strolling downtown. Mothers had gathered their children and shut the doors. Now it was the Festival of Freedom, but as my husband read, Blood, frogs, vermin…pestilence, boils, hail, darkness and slaying of the firstborn, a roll of thunder resounded out in the darkness. We kept glancing out the window, bemused. Such crashes of lightning, such furious hail and noise! Would frogs soon be jumping around under the table? The whole Seder had such a strangely violent storm for background music. Only when the holiday was over did we learn that as we and Jews around the world had celebrated our redemption, a suicide bombing at the Park Hotel, in the coastal city of Netanya, for which Hamas claimed responsibility, had killed thirty Jews and injured 140 — 20 of them seriously.


For not only one has risen up against us. In every generation, some have risen up against us to annihilate us, but the Most Holy, blessed be He, has delivered us out of their hands.


During my thirty years in Israel, time after time, the country has found itself at the edge of a precipice from which we could see no escape. And time after time, the crisis dissolved in some bizarre, unexpected fashion.


A few years ago, the morning after a particularly cruel and deadly suicide bombing on Rechov Ben Yehuda, I resisted the instinctive impulse to hide inside the apartment, and made my way by foot downtown. There was some compulsion going on: I had to witness the scene for myself before all signs of it were cleared away.


I'll never forget the desolation that overwhelmed me as I walked along the streets. Stores were boarded up, coffee shops were closed, sidewalks were virtually empty. After more than a year of intifada, downtown Jerusalem looked like a ghost town. Two whole blocks were cordoned off by yellow crime-scene markers. Flecks of blood were on the stones under my feet! When I looked up, above the shattered glass of storefront windows, I saw spattered blood! What was happening to us? Where was my beloved city?


Like a stray bit of paper flitting around in the wind, I was rambling, stunned, here and there along the Ben Yehuda Promenade, when I spotted one store with an open door. I walked towards it like a moth drawn by light.


It was a music shop. I entered.


A young man was behind the glass counter, busy with something or other at the cash register. The shelves behind him displayed Sony cassette players and Walkmen and CDs. He asked, "Can I help you?"


I didn't have an immediate reply. "It's good that you're here," I said.


He shrugged.


"What do you think's going to happen?"


He gave a quick nod upwards — lifting one hand palm up and glancing toward the ceiling.


I understood the Israeli gesture. He, with his punk haircut, who wore no yarmulka, was telling me in Whose Hands the answer lay. "It won't always be like this," he declared flatly.


"It won't?" I said. It was as if this boy had thrown out a long line to rescue me, and I'd just caught hold. "Really?" I said. "You think so?" How I wanted to believe!


"Right. It won't last forever."


And it didn't.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring articles. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Sarah Shapiro is the author of, most recently, "A Gift Passed Along: A woman looks at the world around her" and a frequent contributor to The Jewish Observer. Comment by clicking here.


© 2006, Agudath Israel of America