Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 3, 2006 / 5 Nissan, 5766

Spring has sprung — into woe

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Ah, spring is in the air.


The sun is shining and the birds are singing. The trees are beginning to bud and the flowers are beginning to blossom. But I'm not feeling as cheerful as I usually do this time of the year.


Perhaps it has to do with one of our more disruptive spring trends: protesting. Thousands came out last week to voice their anger over an immigration bill being debated in the House. The bill seeks, among other things, to make illegal immigrants illegal and to establish borders where our borders are.


These concepts incensed protesters. They said the bill fails to celebrate the spirit that made America great. They said it is unpatriotic. Then they marched off with the Mexican flag high above their heads.


But at least our protesters were relatively orderly. In France, thousands of young men are furious because their government wants to give employers the right to fire them if, during their first two years of employment, employers are unhappy with their work.


We Americans can't fully grasp what they're angry about. We work a lot more than 35 hours a week and generally accomplish financial well-being through education and determination. The French throw rocks, set fires and roll cars, which is one way to know it's spring over there.


Spring is a time for love — or, to be more precise, a time for sexual harassment. In Lorain, Ohio, an 8-year-old boy was subjected to "emergency removal" from his school for allegedly sexually harassing a girl in gym glass — a girl, the investigation allegedly showed, he had the audacity to write love letters to.


This incident demonstrates yet again how the male animal, always looking for an opportunity to harass, oppress or otherwise agitate the superior sex, becomes especially troublesome when the trees begin to bud and the earth comes to life. It should serve as a warning to women to keep their guards up.


Spring is a time to reflect, a time to realign ourselves with the greater truths — as Democrats are doing.


With America in the middle of a war, Democrats know we must band together, which is why they're making outrageous accusations pertaining to the president. Aware that America must not weaken its president in the eyes of the world, they accuse him of lying, corruption and incompetence every day.


It's hard not to daydream in spring, and Democrats are doing that, too. Just last week they said that they, not Republicans, will be more aggressive fighting terror, that they'll be more supportive of the military, that only they can track down bin Laden, and that we must not do anything to appear divided to our enemies.


And they said these things with a straight face.


Spring used to offer us a respite from the woes of the world, thanks to baseball, the great American pastime. About this time every year, I think of sitting in the stands with an ice-cold beer. I think of the crack of a ball against a wooden bat. I think of spoiled athletes who inject themselves with chemicals that allow them to smack baseballs into the stratosphere.


Ah, yes, it's spring, a time of sweet, cool breezes that won't, we should be certain now, be sweet or cool for long.


We should be worried — very worried — according to Time magazine, because the global-warming debate is over. It is man who is causing the polar ice caps to melt and the climate to crash. Pretty soon our new spring ritual will involve frying eggs on the hoods of our cars.


One of the definitions of spring is "to move upward or forward," but with the world clearly going to hell, I'm wondering if spring should still be called spring this year. Perhaps we ought to call it something more realistic, such as "we're all going to die" or "what's the point?"


In any event, I'm not as cheerful this spring as I usually am. Oh, well, at least things are going well over in Iraq.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2006, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles