Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 24, 2006 / 26 Nissan

Not ‘too soon’ for 9-11 films

By Clarence Page


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A lot of people have been fretting nationwide in recent weeks as to whether it's "too soon" for "United 93," the first big theatrical movie to deal with the events of Sept. 11. My response? Simply this: If not now, when?


Almost five years have passed since that fateful day when passengers aboard United Airlines Flight 93 from Newark to San Francisco rose up against al Qaeda hijackers and died in a remote part of Pennsylvania as heroes, the passengers who fought back.


It took less than five years after the fall of Saigon in 1975 to see high-quality, truly introspective Vietnam movies like "The Deer Hunter" (1978) and "Apocalypse Now" (1979). We supposedly do things faster these days.


On the small screen, A&E attracted 5.9 million viewers, the largest audience in the cable TV network's history, with its docudrama "Flight 93" in January. The big-screen "United 93" is directed by Paul Greengrass, acclaimed British director of "The Bourne Supremacy" and the docudrama "Bloody Sunday," about Northern Ireland in 1972.


Yet, "United 93" did not have to wait for its opening in theaters around the country on April 28 (three days after its world premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival near the World Trade Center site) to cause a stir. The previews alone have brought hoots at the screen, complaints to theater owners and a national debate on the airwaves.


Previews of the film startled audiences who were still munching on their popcorn as their awaited Spike Lee's action thriller "Inside Man." Some viewers are reported to have shed tears and shouted, "Too soon!" A multiplex in Manhattan pulled the trailer after patrons complained.


I feel their pain. I, too, felt like putting down my popcorn. Here I had prepared myself for one movie experience, then blamo! I got hit with another.


Of course, I felt the same uneasy feeling at the beginning of "Hotel Rwanda." It's an excellent movie, but recreations of genocide are hardly light entertainment.


Nevertheless, I suspect the "United 93" preview is upsetting to audiences mostly because it comes for many viewers without warning.


There's no blood in the "United 93" previews. It shocks us initially with its serenity, the humdrum cheeriness of a normal airport morning under beautiful skies. I, for one, have not been able to greet a nice, sunny morning since 9/11 without thinking, "Ah, is this another good day for a terrorist attack!"


That's my inner Todd Beamer talking to me. He was the United 93 passenger whose famous "Let's roll" comment led fellow passengers to foil the hijackers who were headed toward the Capitol, near where I happened to be working that morning.


Much later, we would learn about the courage with which ordinary people like Beamer rose up. Thanks to an unexpected delay in their takeoff, they were armed with knowledge that the earlier planes' passengers did not have about their hijackers' true mission.


So, no, I was not delighted to be reminded of all that after I settled down to turn off my brain and watch Denzel Washington and Jodie Foster chase bad guys, only to be jerked alert by something that was genuinely thought-provoking — and heart-wrenching. But, the preview also started me thinking about whether we should be trying so hard to push Sept. 11 out of our minds. Should we not be paying more attention, not less, to the people in this world who want to kill us?


We don't need to be paralyzed by that continuing danger. We only need to stay alert. Passengers on American Airlines Flight 63 from Paris to Miami showed why just a few weeks after Sept. 11 when they subdued Richard Reid before he could finish lighting his shoe bomb.


It is the nature of terrorism to kill lots of civilians and frighten the rest into submission. The big lesson of the United 93 uprising, as the daughter of one of the passengers said recently in support of the movie, is in "never letting fear take over and doing everything you possibly can — until you can't."


Is it "too soon" for a movie to explore that lesson? If not now, when?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on Clarence Page's column by clicking here.

Archives

© 2006, TMS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles