Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 25, 2006 / 27 Nissan, 5766

We can't wish away the war

By Kathryn Lopez


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As moviegoers began to see trailers for the new movie "United 93" in theaters a few weeks ago, audience members cried "too soon" — some of them literally crying, as if victimized by a mere movie trailer. Why? Because nearly five years later they still don't get it. We still don't get it.


Americans who are "shocked" by moviemakers dramatizing the heroism of passengers on the airplane that went down in Shanksville, Pa., on the morning of Sept. 11, 2001, are as asleep as legislators who aren't serious about protecting our borders, diplomats who want to make nice with the terrorists who run Iran and oppress its people, and those who would have left Saddam Hussein in power. We're a nation that should be shocked when reporters reveal classified national-security strategy, but award them Pulitzers instead of condemning their irresponsibility.


For sure, not everyone who has reservations about "United 93" can be dismissed as clueless. Some worry about the ethics of making a movie off of tragedy — legitimate, decent concerns. (Universal has pledged 10 percent of the opening weekend's revenue to the Flight 93 National Memorial.) But it's notable that not one family of Flight 93's victims objected to the making of the movie, according to its producers, who got their go-ahead for the film.


Others of us are more fortunate than those families. We can delude ourselves that we aren't at war, that nothing changed on Sept. 11, and we're not as vulnerable as innocent Israelis who know that every bus they get on or pizza place they grab a slice at could be a suicide bomber's next target.


"United 93" and efforts like it remind us of what happened that day, of the kind of people we are, and of the war we're in. In a TV interview, David Beamer, father of Todd Beamer, known for his "Let's Roll" declaration on Flight 93, recalled seeing a bumper sticker that advised, "just pretend everything is OK." Unfortunately, we can't just wish an Axis of Evil away — though some of us certainly do try.


But "I was horrified" one woman told NBC, talking about the movie trailer. Not by anything she saw in it. Not by anything in particular about it. It's just easier to just pretend everything is OK.


We'll I'm horrified, too, as so many of us are — that there are people determined to kill us, and our allies, because of who we are. I am also horrified that so many of us go on as if what happened won't happen again. Perhaps they're right. As one official intimately familiar with the threats we face recently predicted, matter-of-factly, in conversation, "Sept. 11 won't happen again: It will be 10 times worse."


We're told that our emotions may be too "raw" to make the existence of a movie about the events of Sept. 11 appropriate.


Damn straight the emotions are raw.


The war we're in is in the present tense and it will be for a long haul. We had better get used to it. We owe it to our heroes — to those who died on that Boeing 757 that crashed in a field and to the military men and women and families who are committed, with their very lives, to freedom. If you commute in a major American city Monday through Friday, how can you not have some real, even personal, sense of the threat? The raw emotion needn't be a debilitating emotion, but a knowing one. So many families who have lost and are sacrificing in this war know it best. And it's only normal and healthy — that our culture would respond to these realities. A movie highlighting a brave group of Americans in this war on terror — I can think of a lot worse.


Until we face the naked truth of the brutality of what we're up against, we're more vulnerable than we need to be. One headline about moviegoers' outrage at the "United 93" trailer described audiences as "jolted" by the existence of the movie. Well, as were about to hit the five-year mark in this war on terror, it's about time we're jolted already.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2006, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles