Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 24, 2006 /26 Nissan, 5766

How an initial, inexcusable failure came to follow a great success

By Jack Kelly

>
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Hindsight should be 20-20, but often isn't. Retired Army Maj. Gen. John Batiste, writing in The Washington Post Wednesday, gave this reason for his public call for the resignation of Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld:


"We went to war with the wrong war plan. Senior civilian leadership chose to radically alter the results of deliberate and continuous war planning ..."


I have great respect for Maj. Gen. Batiste's character, courage and integrity. He turned down a third star to retire in protest. But I don't think much of his judgment.


It is indisputably true that Secretary Rumsfeld demanded changes in the war plans for Afghanistan and Iraq. He wanted smaller, lighter forces that could move fast, with more emphasis on air power and special forces.


But it is also indisputably true, as the Centcom commander at the time and his deputy have acknowledged, that Mr. Rumsfeld was right and the generals who advocated a slow, ponderous buildup of conventional forces a la the first Gulf War were wrong.


In Afghanistan, the Taliban was ousted before the massive conventional forces called for in the military's original plan could have arrived in theater. Saddam's regime was deposed in a little more than three weeks, with minimal U.S. casualties. (Saddam could have been deposed even earlier if the ground forces commander, Lt. Gen. David McKiernan, hadn't contracted a case of the slows outside Najaf.)


Our soldiers, sailors, airmen and Marines are our finest public servants. As Ralph Peters notes, there is no profession in America where the senior leadership is more thoroughly vetted.


But in the military, as in all government agencies, there is too much bureaucracy and too little "out of the box" thinking. Many generals, especially in the Army, cling to the methods of warfare in which they were trained (for a conventional conflict with the Soviet Union) even though these are often inapplicable to a guerrilla war against Muslim extremists.


Great success in the march on Baghdad was followed by egregious, inexplicable and inexcusable failure. Virtually no planning had been done for what would happen after the fall of Saddam, and what little planning was done was puerile.


Ultimate responsibility for this failure rests with Secretary Rumsfeld, but not just with him.


"There's a shared responsibility here, said retired Gen. Jack Keane, vice chief of staff of the Army from 1997 to October 2003. "I don't think you can blame the civilian leadership alone."


Former Army Chief of Staff Gen. Eric Shinseki has become a cult figure to officers critical of Mr. Rumsfeld, and for journalists looking for a club with which to beat the Bush administration. The admiration stems from Gen. Shinseki's testimony to the Senate Armed Services Committee in February 2003, that several hundred thousand more troops than the administration was planning for would be required to pacify Iraq.


It appears, in retrospect, that Gen. Shinseki was right. But we ought not to make this assumption as glibly as so many have.


To begin with, the Shinseki plan called for more troops than there were in the active U.S. Army, which casts some doubt on its practicality. But the larger issue is the debate within the military between the "big footprint" guys and the "little footprint" guys.


Gen. Shinseki is a big footprint guy. He favored an occupation like that in Germany and Japan after World War II.


The little footprint guys, most of whom are in special forces, said the presence of a large number of American troops was in itself an incitement to insurgency.


I'm a little footprint guy. I think by far the most serious of the mistakes we've made in Iraq was creation of the Coalition Provisional Authority. The CPA (soldiers said it stood for Can't Provide Anything) did little good, and provided a very visible "American occupation" for extremists to rally against.


We'd have been better off, in my opinion, if we'd followed the Afghan model and stood up right away an Iraqi interim government.


We wound up with the worst of both worlds — a big footprint strategy with a force structure more suitable for a small footprint strategy.


A related egregious mistake was our failure to begin rebuilding immediately the Iraqi army and police. Great progress has been made since Lt. Gen. David Petraeus took over this responsibility in June 2004, but a critically important year was lost.


We are in the early stages of what figures to be a long war against a ruthless and determined enemy. To win this war, it is important we learn from our mistakes. But we can do that only if we hunt for the truth, not for scapegoats.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration. Comment by clicking here.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2006, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles