Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 6, 2006 / 8 Nissan, 5766

With friends like us ...

By Max Boot


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'm all in favor of unilateral action when necessary. If, tomorrow, the U.S. or Israel — or, for that matter, Lichtenstein — were to attack Iran's nuclear weapons complex, I would applaud, no matter how many condemnatory resolutions the United Nations General Assembly passed. But at the moment, the U.S. is scrupulously multilateralist in handling our enemy, Iran, even as we alienate our allies with unilateral actions that serve no good purpose.


The most famous example is the uproar that prevented a company from Dubai, one of our closest Arab friends, from taking over operations at some American ports. Some lesser-known American actions are also rubbing allies the wrong way.


A few weeks ago, British, Italian and Australian officials appeared before the Senate Armed Services Committee to complain about the lack of cooperation they are getting from the Pentagon in the $256-billion F-35 Joint Strike Fighter program. This next-generation warplane is being built by Lockheed Martin for the U.S. and eight allies. Britain has been the biggest foreign partner, anteing up $2 billion so far and promising to pay $9 billion more.


Notwithstanding their close involvement, the Brits feel stiffed because the Defense Department did not consult with them before canceling a contract for F-35 engines that were to be built by Britain's Rolls-Royce. Even worse, the Pentagon refuses to share with the Brits (or the Australians or anyone else) all of the technology that goes into this high-tech stealth fighter. The Brits are particularly rankled that they cannot get their hands on critical software that they will need in order to modify the jet for their own requirements, because U.S. law restricts the export of sensitive technology. Every time our British partners want some key piece of information, they have to request a waiver that can take months to arrive.


Does someone really think that we risk our security if we share information with Britain, a country that is already privy to some of our most treasured intelligence secrets? Apparently that is precisely the concern of House barons Henry J. Hyde (R-Ill.) and Duncan Hunter (R-El Cajon), who fear that Britain might pass along our secrets to France — another ally.


After Britain threatened to pull out of the F-35 program last month, the Bush administration belatedly began to negotiate an information-sharing accord to address London's concerns. But it shouldn't have come to this; the Brits have been complaining loudly for years, and their concerns have been ignored.


Another example of dumb unilateralism has arisen out of the debate over the International Criminal Court, which was created to try war-crimes suspects from countries without functioning legal systems.


Some conservatives, notably U.S. Ambassador to the U.N. John Bolton, speculate that the ICC might be perverted to imprison American soldiers. To avert this hypothetical danger, Congress passed a law requiring that any nation that receives U.S. military aid must agree not to extradite U.S. soldiers for trial in The Hague. Most countries are understandably unwilling to create a double standard for the United States when their own citizens would remain subject to the ICC's jurisdiction.


Major allies, such as Germany and South Korea, are exempt from the aid cutoff, but 12 Latin American nations that refused to sign ICC-exemption treaties have had their military assistance terminated. These include such important countries as Brazil, Mexico, Peru, Bolivia and Ecuador. Next up is Chile, a U.S. ally that is about to ratify the ICC treaty without an exemption for American service members.


Aiding these nations is very much in our own interest because it helps them to combat terrorists, drug traffickers and other common threats. It also draws them closer to the United States at a time when our influence in the region is waning. If we don't help them, our rivals, such as China and Venezuela, are delighted to step in. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice admits that we are "shooting ourselves in the foot" with the aid cutoffs, but no waivers of the sort extended to Germany and South Korea have been forthcoming from Washington.


This is the kind of mindless unilateralism that gives the whole concept a bad name — and that shows how deeply entrenched this tendency is in Washington. Though Democrats may denounce some instances of Republican unilateralism, they happily play the same game when they demonize Dubai. The executive branch and Congress, Republicans and Democrats — all contribute to perpetuating the stereotype of the ugly American.


Memo to policymakers: By all means punish our enemies. But leave our friends alone.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

BOOT'S LATEST
The Savage Wars of Peace: Small Wars and the Rise of American Power  

The book was selected as one of the best books of 2002 by The Washington Post, The Los Angeles Times and The Christian Science Monitor. It also won the 2003 General Wallace M. Greene Jr. Award, given annually by the Marine Corps Heritage Foundation for the best nonfiction book pertaining to Marine Corps history. Sales help fund JWR.



Max Boot is Olin Senior Fellow in National Security Studies at the Council on Foreign Relations in New York. He is also a contributing editor to The Weekly Standard and a weekly columnist for the Los Angeles Times. To comment, please click here.


Archives

© 2006, Los Angeles Times. Distributed by Los Angeles Times Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles