Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 13, 2005 / 4 Nisan, 5765

Scaremongers screaming ‘BOO!’ even louder after column challenges their ‘facts’

By John Stossel


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I've been getting lots of e-mail about my column on the environmental crisis of the moment, global warming.

"John, we already have Geraldo to make an ass of himself — that job is already taken. You (and your ilk) are adding to global warming by spewing this hot air from your pucker brush." Then came: "Boy when you sell out, you really sell out don't you ... What a sh-t bag you've turned into." And another writes: "All of the cow flatulence in the world can't equal the effect of the odiferous steam rising from the pile of bull—— that you lay down." Thank you, Mr. Thompson.

The e-mails I got were quite similar, because they're based on the same critical web page — sometimes "based on" as in "copied": One person even forwarded me my own photograph. The web page calls my column "misleading" because "studies by the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) in 1996 and 2001, and a 2001 National Academy of Sciences report, commissioned by the Bush administration, have recognized global climate change. The Pew Center on Global Climate Change and the Union of Concerned Scientists both also note a 'strong consensus' among climate researchers that global warming is a scientific reality."

Sounds devastating, as if I had ignored basic science, but when I discussed Michael Crichton's argument that we needn't worry about global warming, I didn't deny that warming was a "scientific reality." Crichton doesn't deny it. The earth has warmed about one degree in the past 100 years. Climate changes . It always has. I reported on the real warming trend in my TV special, "Tampering With Nature." The real question is whether the warming is a "crisis," and whether trying to "fix" it will help or just wreck the lives of the poor.

Still, by citing scientific reports, the critical web page implies that Crichton and I have the science wrong. It's a clever way to smear.

As for the "Pew Center on Global Climate Change and the Union of Concerned Scientists," they belong more to the Left than to science. The key word in "Union of Concerned Scientists" isn't "Scientists" — you don't need any particular degree or experience to join — but "Concerned," and the concerns in question are decidedly left wing. Its own website reveals that it developed out of a campaign to make students think that strengthening the American military was an illegitimate use of technology.

Stan Duncan, who at least bothered to paraphrase the smear site, complains, "You highlighted Crichton's view that climate scientists have an incentive to exaggerate global warming in order to win grants. But you did not mention that the inverse is true: Many global warming skeptics receive generous funding to downplay the problem — for example, from energy companies with a stake in opposing regulation of fossil fuel emissions."

Sounds like the skeptics are all doing it for money. But while some of those scientists do get money from the energy industry — that is, from people who make their living providing products on which nearly everything we do depends — it's nowhere near as "generous" as the millions the scaremongers collect. And the scientists tend to get the funding after their research led them to skepticism. Many get no industry funds. Suggesting corruption is a just another smear.

The inspiration for the hate mail is a group called "Media Matters for America." The man behind it is David Brock. Brock first made his reputation fighting viciously for the right wing: He published a book called "The Real Anita Hill." Now he fights viciously for the Left.

Thirty years ago this month, Newsweek reported: "There are ominous signs that the Earth's weather patterns have begun to change dramatically and that these changes may portend a drastic decline in food production — with serious political implications for just about every nation on Earth. The drop in food output could begin quite soon, perhaps only 10 years from now." The headline? "The Cooling World." That's right: Just 30 years ago, scaremongers were telling us about global cooling . The alarmists never stop. Maybe the key issue isn't science. Maybe they just want us to be "concerned."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

STOSSEL'S LATEST
Give Me a Break  

Stossel explains how ambitious bureaucrats, intellectually lazy reporters, and greedy lawyers make your life worse even as they claim to protect your interests. Taking on such sacred cows as the FDA, the War on Drugs, and scaremongering environmental activists -- and backing up his trademark irreverence with careful reasoning and research -- he shows how the problems that government tries and fails to fix can be solved better by the extraordinary power of the free market. Sales help fund JWR.



JWR contributor John Stossel is co-anchor of ABC News' "20/20." To comment, please click here.


Archives

© 2005, by JFS Productions, Inc. Distributed by Creators Syndicate, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles