Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 21, 2005 /12 Nisan, 5765

Son's hoop dreams have a real hero

By Marybeth Hicks



Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | First it was Barney, the preschool teaching purple dinosaur of television fame. Then came Pikachu and the Pokemon — an obsession lasting three years that required a ridiculous investment in collector cards. For a short time, Batman was his focus. Now that my son is 10 years old, his hero is Philadelphia 76ers point guard Allen Iverson — the first "real" hero he's ever had.

I can't pinpoint when the transformation occurred. One day he was up in his room staging a battle between a Beanie Baby tiger and a Spider-Man action figure, and the next he possessed an inexplicable, categorical, exhaustive, comprehensive storehouse of information about the NBA.

Now he reads the sports page with his breakfast cereal, sharing highlights of NBA games with me while I pack school lunches. The boy who always went to bed without complaint now begs to stay up for the end of a televised grudge match between Philadelphia and the New York Knicks. He even changed our computer's home page to www.nba.com.

It's not just an all-consuming interest in basketball that's preoccupying his thoughts. "A.I." — Allen Iverson — has captured my son's imagination.

"Did you know Allen Iverson was the shortest first-round draft pick in history?" my son asked me the other day. "He's only 6 feet, Mom. In the NBA that's really short." "Wow," I said. "That's impressive. What else do you know about him?"

He spouted a few statistics and mentioned that the NBA superstar has two children, but other than the fact that Allen Iverson wears the number three and is his favorite NBA player, I realize he doesn't know much about the man.

Suffice to say, what I know about my son's new hero could fill an eyedropper. This is odd given the amount of time I now spend talking about him.

It feels as though my son has a friend I've never met — a friend whose influence and example seem to grow like the size of my son's black Converse All Stars (shoes we recently purchased in the spirit of "Old School" basketball).

I figure he ought to know more about his hero than just the number on his jersey, so I picked up a copy of John N. Smallwood Jr.'s biography "Fear No One." The cover of the book promises to reveal "The man. The myths. The legend of an NBA superstar." Plus, it has eight pages of photos, which my son will love.

It turns out he hasn't read the book yet, but I did. The rest of my family thinks this is odd because I'm not a big reader of sports biographies. "Mom, why are you reading a book about Allen Iverson?" my daughter asked.

"So I can talk to your brother about what interests him," I said defensively. The truth is, I was checking to see what kind of hero my son has chosen. Times being what they are, sports figures aren't always the most wholesome role models, after all.

The book tells a story of an earnest young man, a product of one of America's poorest and most challenging environments — Hampton, Va. Born into abject poverty to a 15-year-old single mother, Iverson was raised without a reliable male influence in his life.

"Fear No One" tells the story of how Iverson endured the hopeless atmosphere of his home life and chronicles the discovery of his extraordinary athletic abilities. It also tells how he created a plan for his life that would lift his family from the depths of poverty.

Not that his story doesn't have it's share of controversy. At the age of 17 — at the pinnacle of his high school sports career — Iverson was found guilty of participating in a racially charged brawl at a bowling alley. The conviction landed him in prison for four months but was later reversed on appeal because of a lack of evidence.

Even now, almost 10 years later, it's not unusual for the Sixers star to be at the center of a storm for behavior that seems variously immature, unprofessional or downright brash. His brushes with the law and conflicts with Sixers coach Larry Brown reflect lapses in good judgment, at best.

But reading his story leads me to conclude that Iverson is a very "real" hero, indeed. He makes his share of mistakes, but he learns as he goes. He's proud of himself, his family and his roots, and he proves it by staying close to the people who believed he could reach his lofty goals. He also demonstrates a passion for his game that shows he appreciates the raw talent bestowed by a generous Creator.

I realize my son's fascination with Allen Iverson probably won't last long. Someone else will come along to take his place — inspiring him in a whole new direction. As role models go, sports figures seem to rise and fall on their win/loss record, and who knows how long the Sixers will be hot?

Not to mention, sports stars are accidental heroes — people whose abilities thrust them into the spotlight without regard for their character or compassion or commitment to a life that's exemplary. Given the money at stake and the rewards of celebrity, today's sports hero could be tomorrow's congressional witness.

Then again, when I asked my son to name all his heroes, he had two. On the surface, they don't have a lot in common, but they're both basketball players, both fiercely loyal to their families, both hard workers and caring men.

"Allen Iverson and Dad," he said. "By the way, when will Dad be home from work?" he asked as he headed out to the driveway with a basketball.

"Soon," I said.

Life is good when one of your heroes actually plays one-on-one with you before dinner.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Marybeth Hicks, a wife of 17 years and mother of four children, lives in the Midwest. She uses her column to share her perspective on issues and experiences that shape families nationwide. To comment, please click here.


Archives




© 2005, Marybeth Hicks