Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 12, 2014 / 10 Adar II, 5774

Funding to fight the last war

By Ron Hart




JewishWorldReview.com | “Defense is not a budget issue. You spend what you need.”

– Ronald Reagan

We spend more on defense than the next 13 highest-spending countries, combined. China is second, at $125 billion a year, and they are spending that much only because they want to be ready to collect on all the money we have borrowed from them.

The Defense Department has become the Offense Department. We invade and occupy, we do not “defend.” The staggering amount we spend on defense does not include military aid to countries like Pakistan and Egypt, nor does it include border security, Homeland Security, the NSA, the CIA, the FBI, etc.

Folks, we spend a lot of money on “security” that we don't need to. It benefits the government to scare us so it can keep growing all its myriad agencies.

The F-35 fighter is a classic example. It is a jet many believe we don’t need. It got funded because it is built in 46 states. Defense contractors spread their money around to ensure that their products will be funded. Economic logic long ago yielded to politics in our military procurement system.

The military industrial complex might not need a war. It can make money selling weapons to Obama to use against Congress and Fox News.

American voters’ appetite for wars is fading. Only 25 percent wanted us to strike Syria, and the other 75 percent still want to know why we occupied Iraq and Afghanistan. Going forward, we will need fewer soldiers. Future wars are going to be more drone- and special ops-driven, like the Osama bin Laden raid.

Should a major enemy evolve, it would do so over time. We could get back into a war footing pretty quickly, like we did in World War II. If there is a galvanizing cause, Americans will come together.

We need to pay veterans what we owe them for their service, and we need to stop generating so many of them. And we need to thin the top-heavy, war-itching, military brass. If you have a hammer, you are always looking for a nail – thus, our wars.


We have a deep and abiding respect for our soldiers. We just think Washington uses them in conflicts that are not well thought-out. Neocons played the game that, if you were against the wars of occupation in Iraq and Afghanistan, like I was, you were “not supporting the troops.” They conveniently conflated your concerns about a war to insult your patriotism. When you disagree with the Left, you are called a racist. This is a false argument advanced by weak minds.

The risk to America is our spending, not that some conquering army will cross the ocean to attack us. Radical Muslim sects don’t get along with each other. The only reason they might unite is when they coalesce around their anger when we occupy their land. They aren’t a threat. They do not have processed cheese or dial-up Internet. I am no military strategist, but the progression I see would have to be: Get processed cheese, dial-up Internet and a few ships, and then think about crossing the ocean to take over the United States.

The real threat today is cyberwarfare, not some 500,000 of our soldiers invading a country. We are always preparing to fight the last war, not the next one. We have smart bombs, but dumb politicians.

Ukraine is not our fight. The risk is to Europe. Europe should bear the cost, not us. We should get out of the business of being the world’s policeman unless our national defense is truly threatened.

Our strength for now is economic, rather than military. With sanctions coordinated with the community of like-minded nations, we will have more sway. Economics matter. Even kleptocrats like the deposed Ukrainian leader realize you have to have economics and trade, so you can steal from business owners.

When Obama took over, the Feds took $2.1 trillion from us to fund themselves. In his new budget, five years later, Obama is taking $3.3 trillion – $1.2 trillion more to come from us, and to Washington, which, to boot, borrows 35 percent of it. If there is any hope of stopping this spending, the GOP has to be economical on defense to make Obama think of cutting the welfare state he wants to grow.

Sadly, Obama will not use the defense cut “dividend” to pay down our debt but to pay off his political cronies.


Ron Hart Archives


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.



© 2013 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast