Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 27, 2014 / 25 Adar II, 5774

Mother and daughter are each other's No. 1

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Sometimes life turns in a circle like a beacon to show you something old in a new light.

Yesterday I flew from my home in Las Vegas to the Monterey Peninsula in California, where I raised my children. Two of them still live here, teaching school and raising families of their own.

I visit as often as I can. But playing with the little people (ages 3, 2 and 1) doesn't leave much time to spend with their parents. The parents don't seem to mind. But I do. I miss them. So I said, on this visit, I'd like some time alone with each of the grownups. That raised a few eyebrows, but nobody balked.

I guess if your mama or mama-in-law asks for time, you either say yes or try to think of a good excuse. They don't have to make excuses. Four adults, full calendars, jobs, kids, lives. It's like trying to herd snakes.

But if you don't get what you didn't ask for, there's no one to blame but yourself. So I asked.

And that's how I got to spend an evening with my daughter. Her husband took the night off from work to stay home with their 2-year-old. And she and I went to a restaurant near the house where we used to live.

I wish you could've seen us. She looked great. I looked like her mother, but that's a look I'll gladly take any time.

In the years after her dad died, going out to dinner together became a ritual for us. She was still in college but came home most weekends to make me get off my recliner, so to speak, whether I liked it or not.

Sometimes, to move on in life, we go through the motions until the feelings return, like stirring coals to rekindle a flame.


She made me stir the coals, my daughter. I'm remarried now, living 500 miles away, and she is married with a 2-year-old.

I can't recall the last time we had an evening alone together. Yet, we've never been closer.

Watching her face shine as she talked over dinner, I saw both the beautiful young woman that she's become, and the little girl that she will always be to me.

She mentioned a mutual friend, a woman my age, who has long been a "mama-figure" for her. And for a moment, I felt an old stab of jealousy mixed with gratitude that I've always felt for women she looks up to.

Growing up, she was forever talking about some teacher or the mother of one of her friends that she admired for being extra kind or classy or cool.

She had excellent taste. They were all women I admired, too.

That didn't mean I had to like them. Actually, I did like them. I knew her admiration for them had nothing to do with me. But I still felt somehow slighted. Just a little. Like a beauty pageant contestant who shows up at the swimsuit competition in a polka dot swimdress with a big tacky bow and the other contestants are all wearing string bikinis.

I started to tell my daughter that (she likes a good analogy) when suddenly I remembered my ill-fated "mamas" column. I wrote it years ago as a tribute to all the women who encouraged me and helped me to grow up.

It was a good column. Most people liked it. Except my mother, who said, "You need more mamas. I'm not enough!"

I could never understand why my mother never understood what I meant. But last night with my daughter, I saw it.

It's simple, really. Mothers and daughters want the same thing: To be the number one woman in each other's hearts.

Beyond that, we want to be surrounded by the kind of women who build us up and cheer us on and make us better.

We want to look good and feel good, no matter what, in a tacky swimdress or a string bikini.

I'm thankful for the "mamas" who've made a difference in my life and especially for those who still do so for my daughter.

But just so you know? I'm her only mama. And she will always be my number-one girl.


Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




© 2014, Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast