Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 13, 2014 / 11 Adar II, 5774

Dyeing for a change

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Someday, I swear, I am going to quit. Next month, maybe. Or next year. Iíve done it most of my life and itís getting old.

Not that itís hard. Iíve been doing it so long itís like taking a shower or brushing my teeth or reminding my husband to tie his shoes. I could do it in my sleep.

Every time I do it, I think, ďYou donít have to do this. You are just too chicken to quit.Ē

Thatís the truth. Itís become such a part of my life, not to mention, my identity, that I canít picture me without it.

Who would I be?

What would people think?

Who would care?

Iíve been asking those same questions for as long as I can remember about all sorts of things, really, and the answers are always the same:

1. Iíd still be the same person.

2. It doesnít matter what people think.

3. Nobody would care anyhow.

As much as Iíd like to believe those answers, clearly, I do not. What I really think is this:

1. I would not be the same person. Iíd be somebody else. Somebody I might not like.

2. It matters very much to me what people think. Possibly too much. Always has. Always will.

3. Maybe nobody else would care a lick, but I would.

That last answer is the bottom line, the one reason I keep doing something I shouldíve quit long ago: I care.

So today, again, for the forty-eleven-millionth time in my life, I pulled on a pair of rubber gloves and dyed my roots.

I wish you could see them.

My roots, not the gloves. They arenít gray any more. For now.


I started going gray in my 20s, after the birth of my third child. Some might call that premature. I just call it motherhood.

At first, it was only a random gray hair here or there, nothing anybody else would notice. But I did. I noticed it the way you might notice an armored tank rolling through your bedroom.

Iíd check my hair daily for any stray gray and yank it right out. Finally, when I began to fear I might be yanking myself bald, I started coloring my roots.

Call me simple, but it didnít occur to me when I started that Iíd have to keep doing it forever. Or at least until a point at which I would get so fed up Iíd give up and just go gray.

I am at that point now. Well, nearly. I have friends whoíve gone gray and they look totally fabulous. But they would look totally fabulous totally bald.

I donít kid myself. I know Iím not hiding my age.

Once, long ago, while driving my oldest and his buddy Eric to preschool, we passed a parked car covered with a tarp.

ďLook!Ē Eric said. ďGrownups are so dumb. Everybody knows thereís a car under there!Ē

I cover my roots, but Iím no fool. Everybody knows thereís a lot of gray under there.

So why do I keep doing it?

Itís not so much about how others see me. Itís about how I see myself and the way it makes me feel. Isnít that what counts?

I live in Las Vegas. Every day I see people sporting all sorts of interesting looks ó tattoos and nose rings and goatees and comb-overs and mind-boggling clothing (or the lack of it.) It often begs the question: Why?

But why not? Everybody knows thereís a person under there. Shouldnít that person get to pick how they want to look?

Thatís called freedom. No matter how goofy-looking it may seem, itís still a beautiful thing.

Especially if it makes you feel better about yourself. If weíre lucky, the people who matter most to us will let us be who we are and look the way we want to look, and like us anyway.

Who knows? Maybe weíll even do the same for them.

Imagine that.

Everybody wants to hide something. Mistakes. Scars. Roots. Whatever.

But everybody knows, G0D help us, weíre all under there somewhere. Together.


Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




© 2014, Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast