Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Do men get WomenoPause?

By Jim Mullen




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "You've got all the symptoms," Sue said.

"The symptoms of what?

"MFS."

"MFS? I feel fine."

"Sure, now you do, but when I asked you to vacuum the living room, you said you were too tired. When I asked you to take out the garbage you said, 'Later.' Then you sat at the kitchen table and watched me load the dishwasher as if there was some huge weight on your shoulders preventing you from getting up and helping me. Then Willie calls and says 'Let's play golf,' and you couldn't jump up fast enough.

"It's classic MFS. You whine and moan about having to mow the lawn with your bad back, but it suddenly clears up when you want to go bowling. You make up excuses to get out of little household chores, yet you've got plenty of energy to work on your car, and plenty of get-up-and-go when it's time to go drinking with your friends. When I'm dead tired, you're up and ready to go. Of course you are. I've done all the work."

"What has that got to do with MFS? I've never heard of it."

"That's funny, all women know about MFS -- Male Fatigue Syndrome. It's a disease that strikes nine out of 10 husbands, and there is only one known cure."

"What is that?"

"Constant and endless nagging."

"How come women have heard of it and men haven't?"

"Because most often, it occurs in men who also suffer from Male Hearing Disorder, or MHD. It seems they can hear some things some of the time, but not all things all of the time. They can hear 'Dinner's ready,' but they can't hear 'Don't throw your clothes in a big heap on the bedroom floor.' They can hear football games on television, but they can't hear 'Put the toilet seat down.' In severe cases of MHD, women have to start almost every sentence with the words 'How many times do I have to tell you ...'"

"I'm sorry," I said, "did you say something?"

"A perfect example of MSCC, a dreaded but common disease known as Male Selective Concentration Collapse. No known cure. For some reason, it strikes only men -- men in their prime, men who could have lived happily together with their wives till the end of their days, but instead became annoying and boring within weeks of contracting MSCC.

"Most men who get it become unhappy, divorced, jobless winos who wander the streets rummaging through garbage cans and begging for food. I'd have that checked out if I were you. Diagnosed early, I could live a longer and happier life."

"Does practicing medicine without a license ever bother you?

Don't you ever feel like you're taking a job away from a real quack?" "That's the kind of delusional reaction one expects from someone suffering from WWMC -- What? Who, Me? Convulsions."

"Who? Me!?! I'd love to stay and hear more about these fascinating medical non-breakthroughs, but I just remembered I promised Dave I'd help him move. His wife kicked him out of the house last night for no reason at all. She just snapped. She walked into the living room while he was watching hockey and put "Beaches" into the VCR without saying a word! She took the remote and threw it right out the front door. Honest, the only thing he said to her was, 'I'm sure glad men don't go through menopause.' That's when it hit the fan.

"Can you believe it? He just got back from a two-week hunting trip and brought her home 300 pounds of elk meat to butcher, and she's complaining because he won't fix the roof leak in her sewing room. She wouldn't even let him relax for a month or two. What can I tell you? You just can't make some women happy."

ARCHIVES


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Jim Mullen is the author of "It Takes a Village Idiot: Complicating the Simple Life" and "Baby's First Tattoo."




© 2009, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast