Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 20, 2014 / 18 Adar II, 5774

Women have come a long way --- maybe

By Christine M. Flowers




JewishWorldReview.com | March is Women's History Month. It could also be Waffle Appreciation Month, Pick Up Your Dog Poo Month, Global Warming Deniers Month and any number of other esoteric attempts at recognizing something. But, as I said, March is devoted to acknowledging the importance of women in history, and I'm all for things like that, since I am both a woman and getting old enough to actually qualify as historic.

I love it when we remember the Suffragettes and the impact they had on the right to vote. It warms my heart when I hear about Molly Pitcher and Florence Nightengale, ladies who made a difference on the battlefield before it was even questioned that we belonged there. There is no one who tops my enthusiasm for stories about the great cultural icons like the Bronte Sisters, Frida Khalo, and Philadelphia's own Marian Anderson and Judith Jamison. And Madame Curie rates thirty days all by her magnifique self.

What peeves me about Women's History Month (it's a Christine column, so of course you knew this was coming) is the very narrow way women have come to be viewed by the people who make a big deal about WOMEN. I think you could probably search far and wide and not find more than a handful of conservative ladies who rate a remembrance in the grade schools and on the cable newscasts.

I mean, where is that three-part miniseries on Condoleezza Rice? What's that you say? They were going to film part of it on Rutgers campus at that commencement where she was supposed to get an honorary degree in laws? And then, she didn't speak because some hypocritical liberals decided that the only voices they wanted to hear were their own?

Okay, then, what about that amazing documentary on Saint Katharine Drexel, who sacrificed her own multi-million dollar inheritance to found schools and orphanages and promote the welfare of minority children back when that wasn't the cool thing to do, like it is today? Oh, right, she was a nun, and everyone knows that the Catholic Church persecutes people with ovaries. My bad.

I know, I know, this is just typical conservative sarcasm. Sarah Palin excels in it, as do Michele Bachman, Ann Coulter, Michelle Malkin, Mary Matalin and in a somewhat more genteel way, Peggy Noonan. This is typical of women who actually don't like women, who want to see their sisters in reproductive shackles and would rather eat little girls than participate in "Bring Your Daughters to Work" Day. They (we?) excel in drowning Ophelia, or at least hiding her water wings.

Let's face it, Women's History Month is something that we've created to foster a rather skewed and "Gloria-fied" (as in Steinem) version of excellence. For example, we have now decided that women can be as obnoxious as they want, but don't dare call them bossy because that will make them feel bad while they're cursing you out.

And we praise places like lovely local Swarthmore that also have a problem with free speech and push to expel students who were actually cleared of sexual assault charges but who annoy the feminists on campus and therefore must be kicked to the campus green. This whole anti-sexual assault initiative would be admirable if it didn't define assault so broadly as to make breathing on a woman without her permission an aggravated felony.

And then I was reading Ms. Magazine this month (yes, I have a masochistic streak) and there was this slew of letters agreeing with an article that had appeared in the last issue attacking same-sex schools. Now that was a bit of a revelation for me, given the fact that one of the most feminist and "female empowering" places I ever attended was Bryn Mawr College. I've had my differences with my alma mater, but its orthodoxy in all things classically feminist is unquestioned. There was a lot of roaring women on that campus, to harken back to an old Helen Reddy song (I told you I was old enough to be just this side of qualifying for historic preservation status.)

Apparently though, there is this school of thought (pardon the pun) that thinks "segregating" women is a variation of Jemima Crow, where keeping us away from men just pushes us into these narrow little ghettos and doesn't let us shine our light in the real world. I'd like to see them tell that to Hillary Clinton, proud Wellesley grad. Or, for that matter, institutional Gloria, who attended Smith (don't those Ms. editors do any research before they put foot into keyboard?)


There are a lot of women I personally admire, and I really don't care what their voter registration cards say. While her politics are anathema to me, Rachel Maddow is one of the smartest women to ever wield a microphone. I doubt I'd ever actually vote for Mrs. Clinton, especially after what happened in Benghazi and her execrable performance before Congress, but I am awed by her ability and her brain. Sonia Sotomayor annoyed me with her "wise Latina" shtick but has won me over with her even-handed rulings on the Supreme Court. On the other hand, Ruth Bader Ginsburg represents everything I detest in the feminist movement, the sense that women only succeed when men are admonished. Her pronouncements on abortion rights have come close, on occasion, to ravings.

But just as I am willing to see florid tributes to Ruth and Hillary and Sonia and even, Heaven help us, Wendy, I wish there was enough space in the 31 days set aside each year to praise women who fight mightily for the rights of the unborn, like Professor Helen Alvare, or who speak unapologetically for economic freedom, like Teri Adams of the Independence Tea Party movement, or who champion the equal rights of-horror of horrors-boys, like the brilliant Christina Hoff Somers.

The last time I checked, ovaries do not come with a little tag that says, "Only operates if switched to the Left."

We've come a long way? Maybe.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Christine M. Flowers Archives

Christine M. Flowers is a lawyer and columnist for the Philadelphia Daily News.

© 2014, Philadelphia Daily News. Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast