Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 19, 2013/ 8 Nissan, 5773

A word to the whines --- it was just some high jinks

By Christine M. Flowers

Christine M. Flowers


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) In 1979 when I started at Bryn Mawr College, the most animalistic part of my experience was the cafeteria. Having been raised by an Italian woman, I was so used to good cooking that I'd already accumulated the "Freshman Fifteen" as a fifth grader. Being forced to stand in line with strangers and beg for my morning granola was not my idea of freedom, academic or otherwise.

Aside from that, the conditions of my life on that leafy Seven Sisters campus were essentially pleasant. The stone buildings reminded me of the ancient castles of Grimm and Anderson, the autonomy was exhilarating for a girl recently-sprung from the halls of a benevolent but regimented Catholic school and the intellectual stimulation was exactly what I'd been promised when I told my parents I wanted to be admired for my brain, not my beauty. (The fact that they digested that one without breaking out into paroxysms of laughter shows you why I loved them so.)

There were some strange things lurking around the edges of this ivory tower, although perhaps "strange" isn't the right word. Idiosyncratic is a better fit. For example, in October there was something called Lantern Night where we all dressed up in black robes (called "bat robes" by the upperclassmen) and gathered together in the cloisters where we'd raise our class lanterns and chant in Greek.

OK, forget idiosyncratic. That was strange.

At exam time, we'd approach the statue of Pallas Athena a/k/a Goddess of Wisdom and Good Grades, and leave offerings. Sometimes you'd see a Snickers Bar, other times money. I suppose it depended on how desperate you were.

In the spring, we'd celebrate May Day (otherwise known to my grandmother as "that pagan festival") and dance around the Maypole after eating Strawberries and Cream and drinking champagne. I have to say that the only time I imbibed alcohol on campus was right before I started dancing, which might explain why I was one of the few Bryn Mawrters to ever cause a knot in the Maypole weave.

Suffice it to say, Bryn Mawr was not exactly the place you wanted to go to get your buzz on. As of 1979, it hadn't changed all that much from its genteel beginnings almost a century before, when M. Carey Thomas established a school for women who wanted to feed their minds, not mind their manners.

That's why I was a little surprised to hear that my studious, boring little campus was invaded by actual college students, the kind who do stupid things like drink beer, act rowdy and make their parents wonder why they ever opened a college fund. This happened during Hell Week, which traditionally falls at the beginning of the second semester and involves good-natured ribbing by the upperclassmen of the uptight and overwrought freshman lassies.

Of course, Bryn Mawrters have a history of rowdiness, including our most famous alum Katharine Hepburn who skinny dipped in a campus pond. But unlike some institutions that have to deal with dangerous hazing rituals, Bryn Mawr has never made her students feel that their lives or even reputations were in danger (their dignity, perhaps.)

During my Freshman Hell week, I was forced to play "The Highwayman" on the guitar and sing it in the manner of the Great Hepburn. You can imagine how horrible it was to sing "And thee-ah Highwayman came a-ryyyding, dahling, ryyyding, ryyyding, the Highwayman came a-ryyyding, and the callah lilies were in baloom."

Humiliating.

This year, apparently, it got a little rougher in one of the dorms. Some of the poor dears in Radnor dorm were pummeled with toilet paper, doused with cold water, forced to play wiffle beer ball (that is, wiffle with beer cans) and listen to the "Radnor Goddess Speech" (I can only imagine )

While this does seem to violate the code of conduct that I honored during my happy four years on campus, it's not like it violates the International Convention on Human Rights. I'm a little surprised that some aggrieved Mawrters (note the similarity to "Martyr") snitched on their fellow students. I suppose this was to be expected in the "anti-bullying" age where even speaking harshly to a delicate flower of a child invites comparisons to Stalin.

But seriously? My collegiate homegirls need to man up. Even if it is a woman's college.

Christine M. Flowers is a lawyer and columnist for the Philadelphia Daily News. Comments by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Previously:



03/11/13: The Great Race Debate, revisited
03/04/13: Marriage goes beyond love
02/19/13: 2 women, and what they're fighting for
02/04/13: Sadly, Scouting seems poised to give up the fight
01/15/13: Reflections from Gettysburg
01/02/13: The mentally ill vs. those who love them
12/27/12: Rapper learns he's just another guy on probation
12/20/12: Cold, hard truth about the killer
12/10/12: When a warm heart meets a cold manipulator
11/22/12: Some women don't know how good they have it


© 2013, Philadelphia Daily News. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast